2009 College Football Hall of Fame inductee Tim Brown will be honored for that accomplishment this Saturday at halftime of the Notre Dame-Michigan State football game at Notre Dame Stadium.

Tim Brown Named To College Football Hall of Fame

April 30, 2009


NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Tim Brown, 1987 Heisman Trophy winner and two-time All-American, today was named to the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame.

Brown was one of 16 former college players and two coaches named to the 2009 College Football Hall of Fame Class, as announced in New York by Archie Manning, chairman of the National Football Foundation.

The ’09 class will be inducted at the 52nd annual awards dinner on December 8, 2009, at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City. The players and coaches will be enshrined at the Hall of Fame in South Bend in summer 2010.

Brown becomes the 43rd former Notre Dame player inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. The Irish have six former coaches in the Hall and the 49 total enshrines are the most of any NCAA institution, the most recent being Lou Holtz in 2008.

The first wide receiver to be awarded the Heisman Trophy, Brown became the seventh Notre Dame player to be heralded as the most outstanding player in the nation in 1987. He set 19 school records during his Irish career and earned the nickname “Touchdown Timmy.”

Brown’s head coach, Lou Holtz, called Brown the most intelligent football player he had ever been around and was later quoted as saying, “I can’t imagine that there’s anyone else who can have such a major effect on a football game in as many ways as Tim Brown can.”

For his career, Brown averaged 116.8 all-purpose yards per game and totaled 22 touchdowns. He totaled a then-school record 2,493 receiving yards with 12 receiving TDs and averaged 18.2 yards per catch. Brown averaged 23.4 yards on 69 career kickoff returns with three returned for TDs and averaged 13.2 yards on 36 punt returns and three TDs.

The two-time All-American (1986, 1987-unanimous) set a single-season record with 1,937 all-purpose yards as a junior in 1986. As a senior, Brown ranked sixth nationally with 167.9 all-purpose yards per game and also was awarded the Walter Camp Award.

Brown led all Irish receivers as a sophomore in 1985 with 25 catches for 397 yards and three TDs and started 10 games. As a freshman, he set the freshman record with 28 receptions (since broken by Duval Kamara in 2007 and Michael Floyd in 2008).

Selected in the first round (sixth overall) in the 1988 NFL Draft by the Los Angeles Raiders, Brown played 16 seasons with the franchise, earning him the title Mr. Raider. He holds the NFL rookie record for most combined yards gained (2,317) and became the oldest player to return a punt for a touchdown in 2001. A member of the NFL 1990s All-Decade team, he was named to nine Pro Bowls and hauled in an NFL record 75 receptions in 10 straight seasons.

Born Timothy Donell Brown on July 22, 1966, Brown grew up in Dallas, Texas, and attended Woodrow Wilson High School where he played football, basketball and track as well as served as vice president of his senior class and sports editor of the school newspaper. Brown graduated from Notre Dame with a Bachelor of Arts degree in sociology in 1988.

Brown is the national chairman of Athletes & Entertainers for Kids and currently resides in DeSoto, Texas.

All-Time Notre Dame College Football Hall of Fame Inductees:

Year    Player                       Position          Years Played1951    George Gipp                  HB                1917-201951    Elmer Layden                 FB                1922-241954    00.html" >Frank Carideo                QB                1928-301958    Harry Stuhldreher            QB                1922-241960    John Lujack                  QB                1943, 46-471963    George Connor                OT                1946-471965    Jack Cannon                  G                 1927-291966    Edgar (Rip) Miller           OT                1922-241966    Jim Crowley                  HB                1922-241968    Adam Walsh                   C                 1922-241970    Don Miller                   HB                1922-241971    Louis (Red) Salmon           FB                1900-031972    Angelo Bertelli              QB                1941-431972    Ray Eichenlaub               FB                1911-141973    Leon Hart                    TE                1946-491974    Marchy Schwartz              HB                1929-311974    Heartley (Hunk) Anderson     OG                1918-211975    John (Clipper) Smith         OG                1925-271976    Creighton Miller             HB                1941-431977    Zygmont (Ziggy) Czarobski    OT                1942-43, 46-471978    Frank (Nordy) Hoffmann       OG                1930-311979    John Lattner                 HB                1951-531982    Bert Metzger                 OG                1928-301983    Bill (Moose) Fischer         OG                1945-481983    Bill Shakespeare             HB                1933-351984    Emil (Red) Sitko             HB                1946-491985    Paul Hornung                 QB                1954-561985    Fred Miller                  T                 1926-281987    Tommy Yarr                   C                 1929-311988    Bob Williams                 QB                1948-501990    Wayne Millner                E                 1933-351992    Jim Lynch                    LB                1964-661993    Alan Page                    DE                1964-661994    Jerry Groom                  C / LB            1948-501995    Jim Martin                   E/T               1946-491997    Ken MacAfee                  TE                1974-771999    Ross Browner                 DE                1973, 1975-772000    Bob Dove                     E                 1940-422001    Ralph Guglielmi              QB                1951-542004    Joe Theismann                QB                1968-702005    John Huarte                  QB                1962-642007    Chris Zorich                 DT                1987-902009    Tim Brown                    WR                1984-87


Year    Coach           Record       Years Coached1951    Knute Rockne    105-12-5     1918-301970    Frank Leahy     87-11-9      1941-43, 46-531971    Jesse Harper    34- 5-1      1913-171980    Ara Parseghian  95-17-4      1964-741985    Dan Devine      53-16-1      1975-802008    Lou Holtz       100-30-2     1986-96

2009 College Football Hall of Fame Class

Pervis Atkins – HB, New Mexico State (1958-60)
Tim Brown – WR, Notre Dame (1984-87)
Chuck Cecil – DB, Arizona (1984-87)
Ed Dyas – FB, Auburn (1958-60)
Major Harris – QB, West Virginia (1987-89)
Gordon Hudson – TE, Brigham Young (1980-83)
William Lewis* – C, Harvard (1892-93)
Woodrow Lowe – LB, Alabama (1972-75)
Ken Margerum – WR, Stanford (1977-80)
Steve McMichael – DT, Texas (1976-79)
Chris Spielman – LB, Ohio State (1984-87)
Larry Station – LB, Iowa (1982-85)
Pat Swilling – DE, Georgia Tech (1982-85)
Gino Torretta – QB, Miami (Fla.) (1989-92)
Curt Warner – RB, Penn State (1979-82)
Grant Wistrom – DE, Nebraska (1994-97)
* Selection from the FBS Veterans Committee, deceased

Dick MacPherson – 111-73-5 (.601) – Massachusetts (1971-77), Syracuse (1981-90)
John Robinson – 132-77-4 (.629) – Southern California (1976-82, 1993-97), Nevada-Las Vegas (1999-2004)