Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Second Varsity Four Wins Grand Final At Central/South Sprints

May 18, 2003

Oak Ridge, Tenn. – The Notre Dame second varsity four crew of Maureen Gibbons, Kristen Mizzi, Sarah Keefer, Kristin Henkel and Jacqueline Hazen won the gold medal today in the grand finals of the 2003 Central/South Sprints on Lake Melton in Oak Ridge, Tenn. It marked the first time a Notre Dame crew has won a gold medal at the regional regatta in the short five-year history of the program. The previous highest finish was third last season by the varsity four.

The Irish won the race by almost four seconds in 7:20.40. Ohio State, who won its first team title in history at the Central/South Sprints and became only the third school to ever win the crown, was second in 7:24.10, followed by Iowa (7:26.20), Michigan (7:26.30), Tennessee (7:26.70) and Michigan State (7:28.0).

In other action, the Notre Dame varsity eight came back strong to place second in the petite finals and eighth overall. The Irish crew of Cassie Markstahler, Natalie Ladine, Ashlee Warren, Kati Sedun, Rachel Polinski, Alice Bartek, Meghan Boyle, Casey Buckstaff and Kerri Murphy finished in a time of 6:30.9, trailing only Iowa’s 6:27.20. Virginia was first in the grand finals in a time of 6:18.70, followed by Ohio State (6:19.20).

In the second varsity eight, the crew of Kathryn Long, Shannon Mohan, Danielle Protasewich, Kathleen Welsh, Meredith Thornburgh, Katie Chenoweth, Devon Hegeman, Erica Drennen and Melissa Felker finished sixth in the grand final in a time of 6:42.50. Michigan State was first in 6:31.60, followed by Michigan, Iowa, Virginia and Ohio State.

In the varsity four petite finals, Notre Dame’s crew of Kacy McCaffrey, Katie McCaulden, Christy Donnelly, Katie O’Hara and Andrea Amoni was third and ninth overall. Virginia was first in the petite finals in 7:22.0, followed by Tennessee (7:26.50)and the Irish (7:29.60). In the grand finals, Ohio State was first in 7:08.60, followed by Michigan and Iowa.

In the first novice eight, the Irish crew of Shannan Lettieri, Pamela Jefson, Julie Lewis, Morgan Ertel, Danielle Stealy, Jenna Redgate, Sarah French, Andrea Doud and Megan Sheehan finished third in the petite final and ninth overall. In the petite final, Kansas was first, followed by Clemson and the Irish. Virginia was first overall in 6:38.50.