With a second All-American honor, senior Mary Saxer became the most decorated pole vaulter in program history.

Saxer Breaks Loftus Pole Vault Record on Final Day of Meyo Invitational

Feb. 7, 2009

Complete Results | Photo Gallery media-icon-photogallery.gif

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Meyo Invitational ended on an exciting note Saturday as Mary Saxer, yet again, broke her own Loftus Sports Center pole vault record with a mark of 4.15m and several athletes ran sub-four minute miles in the Meyo Mile.

Women’s 60m Hurdles: Loriann Price finished first with a time of 8.44. Kali Watkins finished ninth for the Irish in 8.72.

Women’s 60m: Michigan’s Tiffany Ofili took the top spot with a time of 7.49, followed by Southern Mississippi’s Tori Bowie at 7.52 and Western Illinois’ ChrisDell Harris in third at 7.53.

Women’s 200m: Shellene Williams’ finished first with a time of 23.94, followed by Belmont’s Lynette Rives at 24.18 and Southern Mississippi’s Tori Bowie in third at 24.24.

Women’s 400m: Stacy Clausing, running unattached, edged out Joanna Schultz to take the top spot. Clausing clocked in at 53.95, while Schultz crossed the line in 54.32. Both were NCAA provisional qualifying marks. Natalie Geiger finished fourth for the Irish in 55.26 and Samantha Williams finished 25th at 57.82.

Women’s 800m: Geena Gall from Michigan took first with a time of 2:03.91. Kelly Langhans was the top Irish finisher in sixth at 2:08.24, setting an NCAA provisional qualifying mark. Natalie Johnson finished 18th in 2:10.97, Elizabeth Myers finished 23rd at 2:12.52, Allison Schroeder was 32nd with a time of 2:14.91, Abby Higgins finished 42nd in 2:15.83, Molly Sullivan clocked in at 2:16.50 to finish 45th, Dominique Taylor finished 61st in 2:21.77 and Gena Bleyer clocked in at 2:26.51 to finish 64th.

Women’s Mile: Clerc Koenck won the event with a time of 4:38.48. Molly Hirt was the top Irish finisher, finishing 31st with a time of 5:05.93.

Women’s 3000m: Guelph’s Lindsay Carson took the top spot with a time of 9:10.04. Lindsey Ferguson was the top Irish finisher in seventh in 9:31.87, setting an NCAA provisional qualifying mark. Marissa Treece finished 12th in 9:47.00, Theresa Cattuna was 22nd in 10:01.49, Becca Bauman was 40th with a time of 10:23.49, Stephanie Socias finished 42nd in 10:27.06, Keri Johnson was 44th at 10:28.29 and Alissa Ott finished 56th with a time of 10:41.71.

Women’s 4x400m Relay: Notre Dame won the event with a time of 3:40.53, followed by Western Michigan at 3:42.00 and Michigan at 3:42.74.

Women’s Shot Put: Jaclyn Espinoza was the top Irish finisher, recording a mark of 13.63m to finish ninth. Rudy Atang finished 19th with a toss of 12.20m.

Women’s Pole Vault: Mary Saxer took the top spot and broke her own Loftus Sports Center pole vault record with a mark of 4.15m. Jessica Sullivan finished 18th with a vault of 3.50m and Ann Polcari finished 20th at 3.35m.

Women’s Triple Jump: Jaime Minor was the top Irish finisher in 16th with a jump of 11.44m, followed by Jasmine Williams in 21st at 10.41m.

Men’s 60m Hurdles: Jerome Miller crossed the line first in 7.73, followed by Purdue’s Josh Hembrough in second at 7.80 and Brooks’ Ricky Pinkey in third at 7.90.

Men’s 60m: Shannon King took the top spot with a time of 6.64m, followed by Eastern Illinois’ Zye Boey at 6.69 and Eastern Michigan’s Clint Allen finished third in 6.77.

Men’s 200m: Zye Boey finished first at 20.93. Miklos Szebeny was the top Irish finisher in 10th at 21.93. Tyrell Atkins finished 24th in 22.53, Nick Tammerine was 34th at 23.09, Sean Lindbloom finished 36th at 23.33, Sean Reed finished 37th in 23.41 and Ronnie Kadykowski crossed the line in 23.62 to finish 38th.

Men’s 400m: Michigan State’s Jeremy Orr finished first in 46.41. Jordan Rincon clocked in at 47.78, Alex Korenstra was 26th at 49.20 and Edward Hitchler finished 51st in 50.83.

Men’s 800m: Northern Iowa’s Tyler Mulder finished first in 1:48.79, just ahead of Indiana’s De’Sean Turner at 1:50.08 and Notre Dame’s Jack Howard in third at 1:50.40. All three set NCAA provisional qualifying marks. Jim Notwell finished 12th in 1:51.67, Cameron Eckert finished 18th in 1:52.35, Kevin Labus was 21st at 1:52.77, Johnathan Shawel clocked in at 1:52.85 to finish 22nd, Randall Babb finished 25th in 1:53.29, Mitch Lorenz clocked in at 1:55.74 to finish 41st, Brier Steenberge finished 49th at 1:58.29, Max Cruz was 50th in 1:58.33 and Michael Farmer finished 57th with a time of 2:02.61.

Men’s Meyo Mile: Michigan State’s Shane Knoll won the event with a time of 3:57.36, followed by New Mexico’s Lee Emanuel at 3:57.91 and Michigan’s Justin Switzer in third at 3:58.86. Four athletes set NCAA automatic qualifying times, while two hit NCAA provisional qualifying standards.

Ryan Shay Men’s 3000m: Alabama’s Tyson David won the event with a time of 7:59.81. Paul Springer was Notre Dame’s top finisher in 21st with a time of 8:25.55. Joe Miller finished 25th in 8:31.47 and Kelly Lynch finished 44th with a time of 8:50.07.

Men’s Shot Put: Ohio State’s Patrick Whalen finished first with a mark of 17.38m, followed by Notre Dame’s Denes Veres in second at 17.24m. John Belcher finished seventh at 16.69m, Andrew Hills was 10th at 16.01m and Greg Davis finished 20th at 15.02m.

Men’s Triple Jump: Andre Black took the top spot with a jump of 15.64m. Eric Quick finished fourth with a mark of 15.08m.

Men’s High Jump: Tone Belt of Louisville took the top spot with a jump of 2.17m. Blair Majcina was the top Irish finisher in 16th with a jump of 2.00m. Doug Onuscheck finished 25th with a mark of 1.95m.

Men’s 4x400m Relay: Ohio State was the top team with a time of 3:11.02. Notre Dame finished fifth at 3:11.64.

The Irish will head to the Windsor Team Challenge Feb. 14, before the BIG EAST Championships Feb. 21-22.