Senior Blas Moros earned a spot on the OFCC All-Tournament team on Sunday.

Plenty Of Irish Blue And Gold On All-Tournament Teams

Sept. 16, 2012

OFCC Invitational

OLYMPIA FIELDS, Ill. – After knocking off his third ranked foe in less than a day, Notre Dame men’s tennis player Greg Andrews was named the Most Outstanding Player of the elite OFCC Invitational in Olympia Fields, Ill., on Sunday.

Andrews, who defeated No. 118 Farris Gosea and No. 99 David Holiner on Saturday, did it again on Sunday as he opened up with an impressive three-set win over Kentucky’s Tom Jomby (No. 45), 7-5, 4-6, 6-4. Earlier in the day Andrews teamed with his usual partner Spencer Talmadge to pick up a doubles win over Campbell Johnson and Chase Melton of California, 9-7.

Also earning a spot on the all-tournament team was senior Blas Moros, who blew past Stephen Hoh from Illinois, 6-1, 6-1, on Sunday.

Picking up singles win on Sunday were sophomore Wyatt McCoy, seniors Michael Moore and Talmadge and junior Billy Pecor. McCoy took down California’s Campbell Johnson, 6-3, 1-0 (retired), while Pecor defeated Johnson’s teammate Andrew Scholnick, 6-3, 7-5. Talmadge defeated Texas’ Alex Hilliard, 6-2, 3-6, 6-2 and Moore won handily over Julian Childers of Illinois, 6-1, 6-1.

Other doubles victories included Wyatt McCoy and Quentin Monaghan over Gregory Bayane and Andrew Scholnick from California, 9-8 (3) and Alex Lawson and Pecor over Sebastian Fanselow and Mousheg Hoyhanisyan of Pepperdine, 8-3.

The Irish return to action in three weeks when they host the annual Tom Fallon Invitational from Oct. 5-7. That same weekend Andrews will head to Tulsa, Okla., for the ITA All-America Championships.

Round 3
Greg Andrews/Spencer Talmadge (ND) def. Campbell Johnson/Chase Melton (CAL), 9-7
Wyatt McCoy/Quentin Monaghan (ND) def. Gregory Bayane/Andrew Scholnick (CAL), 9-8(3)
David Sofaer/Damian Gryzelko (PEP) def. Blas Moros/Michael Moore (ND), 8-5
Alex Lawson/Billy Pecor (ND) def. Sebastian Fanselow/Mousheg Hovhannisyan (PEP), 8-3
Tim Kopinski/Alex Jesse (ILL) def. Spencer Talmadge/Alex Lawson (ND), 8-2

Round 4
No. 24 Greg Andrews (ND) def. No. 45 Tom Jomby (UK), 7-5, 4-6, 6-4
Blas Moros (ND) def. Stephen Hoh (ILL), 6-1, 6-1
Wyatt McCoy (ND) def. Campbell Johnson (CAL), 6-3, 1-0 (ret.)
Billy Pecor (ND) def. Andrew Scholnick (CAL), 6-3, 7-5
Tim Kopinski (ILL) def. Quentin Monaghan (ND), 6-4, 7-6(5)
Spencer Talmadge (ND) def. Alex Hilliard (UT), 6-2, 3-6, 6-2
Michael Moore (ND) def. Julian Childers (ILL), 6-1, 6-1
Alex Lawson (ND) def. Alex Jesse (ILL), 6-4, 6-3

Most Outstanding Player
Greg Andrews (ND)

All-Tournament Team
Greg Andrews (ND)
Tom Jomby (UK)
Blas Moros (ND)
Chase Melton (CAL)

Vredevelt Invitational

KALMAZOO, Mich. – A pair of freshmen in Nicolas Montoya and Ken Sabacinski earned a spot on the Vredevelt Invitational in Kalamazoo, Mich., on Sunday.

Montoya closed out his weekend with another victory, toping Brandon MacDonald from Xavier, 6-1, 6-4. Also picking up wins on Sunday were Ryan Bandy and Dougie Barnard. Bandy beat Xavier’s Mesa Mei, 6-3, 6-3, while Barnard slid past the Musketeers’ Michael Moe, 6-4, 6-2.

In doubles action the Irish went undefeated on Sunday, as Bandy and Sabacinski and Barnard and Montoya each teamed up to earn victories. Bandy and Sabacinski defeated VanderPloeg and Payne of Western Michigan, 9-8 (4), while Barnard and Montoya knocked off Beckwith and Treis of Western Michigan, 8-5.

1. Jimmy Roebker (Xavier) def. Kenny Sabacinski (ND) 6-2, 6-4
2. Ryan Bandy (ND) def. Mesa Mei (Xavier) 6-3, 6-3
3. Nicolas Montoya (ND) def. Brandon MacDonald (Xavier) 6-1, 6-4
6. Freddy Abunku (Xavier) def. Michael Fredericka (ND-4) 6-4, 6-2.
7. Dougie Barnard (ND-5) def. Michael Moe (Xavier) 6-4, 6-2

1.) Ryan Bandy/Sabacinski (ND) def. VanderPloeg/Payne (WMU) 9-8 (7-4)
2.) Barnard/Montoya(ND) def. Beckwith/Treis (WMU) 8-5

Singles Champion: Jim Roebker, Xavier
Doubles Champions: Shabib/Jonsson, Cleveland State

All-Tournament Team
Jim Roebker, Xavier (MVP)
Mesa Mei, Xavier
Ross VanderPloeg, Western Michigan
Nicolas Montoya, Notre Dame
Joe VanMeter, Cleveland State
Ken Sabacinski, Notre Dame
Brandon MacDonald, Xavier
Ali Shabib, Cleveland State