Mary Saxer was named to the USTFCCCA Track and Field All-Academic Team.

Notre Dame Opens Season With Strong Showing at Blue and Gold Meet

Dec. 5, 2008

Final Stats

Men’s and Women’s Shot Put Results Get Acrobat Reader

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Notre Dame men’s and women’s track and field teams opened their indoor season on high note with strong performances at the Blue and Gold Invitational held at the Loftus Center Friday night.

Senior Mary Saxer won the women’s pole vault and qualifed for the NCAA Championships with a vault of 4.00m. Notre Dame claimed several titles at this year’s meet and finished in the top five in every event in which they participated. Women’s Long Jump: Notre Dame finished 1-2-3 in the field of 10 with Maddie Buttinger finishing first with a jump of 5.30m. Jaime Minor was second with 5.24m and Jasmine Williams finished third with 5.09m

Men’s Long Jump: Depaul’s Joseph Strawder edged out Notre Dame’s Eric Quick and Justin Schneider to take the top spot. Strawder recorded a jump of 7.14m. Quick jumped 6.77m, followed by Schneider with a mark of 6.66m.

Women’s High Jump: Notre Dame’s Maddie Buttinger defeated four other competitors from Detroit Mercy and Marquette with a jump of 1.75m.

Men’s High Jump: Notre Dame’s Blair Majcina took the top spot with a jump of 2.06m. Marquette’s Nick Byom finished second with a mark of 2.01m, and Notre Dame’s Doug Onuscheck was third with 1.86m.

Women’s Triple Jump: Jaime Minor won the event with a jump of 11.01m. Men’s Triple Jump: Notre Dame’s Eric Quick took first place with a jump of 14.42m.

Women’s Pole Vault: Mary Saxer cleared 4.00m to win the event. Jessica Sullivan placed second with a vault of 3.55m and Annie Polcari was third at 3.25m.

Men’s Pole Vault: Notre Dame took the top five spots with Matt Schipper clearing 4.95m to take first. Kevin Schipper was second with a height of 4.80m, Tray Morgan was third with 4.50m, Justin Schneider was fourth with 4.35m and Andrew Kolbeck finished fifth with 4.20m.

Women’s Weight Throw: Anna Weber dominated the event, taking first with a toss of 18.31m. Detroit Mercy’s Brittany Horne was second with 15.75m. Rudy Atang finished sixth with a throw of 13.65m.

Men’s Weight Throw: Greg Davis finished second with a throw of 17.71m, behind unattached Brian Richotte. Mitchell Gormley was fourth, John Belcher was fifth and Jeff Mensch finished sixth. Denes Veres and Andrew Hills finished eighth and ninth, respectively.

Women’s Shot Put: Anna Weber took home the top spot with a toss of 14.47m. Jaclyn Espinoza was second with a mark of 13.74m. Rudy Atang finished fourth with a throw of 12.99m, and Maddie Buttinger was ninth at 10.00m.

Men’s Shot Put: John Belcher finished first with a throw of 16.28m. Denes Veres was second with a mark of 15.31m, and Andrew Hills finished third at 15.13m. Greg Davis finished fifth with a toss of 14.46m, and Justin Schneider was seventh at 12.58m.

Women’s 60m Hurdles: Notre Dame finished 1-2-3 in the five-woman race with Sasha Blanchard taking the top spot in 9.14, followed by Maddie Buttinger with a time of 9.30 and Kali Watkins in 9.98.

Men’s 60m Hurdles: Notre Dame’s Justin Schneider finished in 8.48 to defeat Detroit Mercy’s Aviram Campbell (8.75).

Women’s 60m: DePaul’s Stephanie Williams took the top spot in 7.74, followed by Detroit Mercy’s Tiffany James in 8.00, Ivy Moffett, of DePaul, in 8.07, and Marquette’s Naana Mensah with a time of 8.28.

Men’s 60m: Detroit Mercy’s Earnest Cleary (7.00) and Deonte Osayande (7.09) finished 1-2, ahead of Notre Dame’s Chandler Brooks (7.18). Notre Dame’s Alex Gannon (7.42) and Ronnie Kadykowski (7.45) finished eighth and ninth, respectively.

Women’s 200m: DePaul took the top three spots. Notre Dame’s Kali Watkins finished fourth with a time of 26.37, and Sasha Blanchard was sixth in 26.78.

Men’s 200m: Marquette’s Tyler O’Brien (22.28) edged out Miklos Szebeny (22.53) to take the top spot. Nick Tammerine finished fourth in 22.75, Ryan Sheehan was ninth in 23.21, Sean Reed was 10th with a time of 23.25, Alex Gannon finished 12th in 23.55 and Ronnie Kadykowski was 13th with a time of 23.86.

Women’s 400m: Notre Dame took the top two spots, as Joanna Schultz (54.85) edged out Natalie Geiger (57.30) to win the event. Notre Dame’s Tiffany Tibbot finished fourth in the six-person race 59.15.

Men’s 400m: Notre Dame’s Jordan Rincon won the event with a time of 48.34. Alex Korenstra finished fourth in 49.57, while Ryan Sheehan was eighth in 51.60 and Sean Reed was 11th in 52.25.

Women’s 500m: Notre Dame finished 1-2 in the seven-woman race with Cora Dayon taking the top spot with a time of 1:15.17. Natalie Johnson finished second in 1:15.66. Nicole Yergler was fifth in 1:19.59.

Men’s 500m: Notre Dame’s Billy Buzaid beat out DePaul’s Erik Felt to win the event with a time of 1:04.75. Matthew Brown finished fourth in 1:05.88 and Jim Notwell was fifth with a time of 1:06.10. Max Cruz finished 10th in 1:09.70.

Women’s 800m: In the all-Notre Dame race, Kelly Langhans finished first with a time of 2:12.08. Elizabeth Myer was second in 2:14.98, Allison Schroeder was third in 2:19.76 and Dominique Taylor finished fourth with a time of 2:25.76.

Men’s 800m: Johnathan Shawel made a big move at the end to overtake DePaul’s Edin Pasalic and win the 800m with a time of 1:55.82.

Women’s 1000m: DePaul’s Mary Cate Quiett (2:55.84) edged Marquette’s Katlin Millin (2:59.04) and Notre Dame’s Gena Bleyer (3:03.70). Alissa Ott finished sixth in 3:12.02.

Men’s 1000m: Notre Dame took the top eight out of 11 spots with Blake Choplin in a time of 2:27.48. Kevin Labus was second (2:28.47), Cameron Eckert was third (2:29.15), Jack Howard finished fourth (2:29.32), Randall Babb was fifth (2:29.99), Mitch Lorenz finished sixth (2:31.07), Zac Suriano was seventh (2:31.99) and Terrance Egan finished eighth (2:33.38).

Women’s Mile: Notre Dame finished 1-2-3 with Molly Hirt taking the top spot with a time of 5:05.28. Elizabeth McMahon was second in 5:05.49 and Molly Sullivan finished third in 5:08.66. Grace Brier finished fifth with a time of 5:37.76.

Men’s Mile: Notre Dame’s Jordan Carlson took first with a time of 4:16.25, edging out DePaul’s Greg Udzielak by one second. Notre Dame’s Spencer Carter (4:18.08) and Joe Miller (4:18.12) finished third and fourth, respectively.

Women’s 3000m: Notre Dame took eight of the top 10 spots with Heidi Rocha winning the event with a time of 10:00.31. Theresa Cattuna (10:10.70) and Erica Watson (10:13.16) finished second and third, respectively. Kari Johnson was fifth, Emily Wauford was sixth and Stephanie Socias finished seventh. Adrienne Pastula finished 10th.

Men’s 3000m: Notre Dame took the top three spots in the four-man race. Daniel Clark was first with a time of 8:14.26. Patrick Smyth finished second in 8:28.47, while Ryan Gamboa was third in 8:33.44.

Men’s 5000m: Notre Dame took six of the top seven spots with Patrick Smyth in first with a time of 14:21.39. Jake Walker was second in 14:23.34, Dan Jackson finished third in 14:33.36, Paul Springer was fourth with a time of 14:33.72 and Ryan Jacobs was fifth in 14:35.39. Thomas Noel finished seventh with a time of 15:39.86. Kyle Higdon finished 12th in 16:19.71.

Women’s 4x400m Relay: Notre Dame took the top two spots in the five-team race, finishing with times of 3:51.68 and 4:00.77.

Men’s 4×400 Relay: Notre Dame teams took the top three spots, finishing with time of 3:19.67, 3:19.96 and 3:19.98.