Nov. 2, 2000

SOUTH BEND, Ind. – Nine members of the Notre Dame women’s soccer program were honored Thursday night at the downtown Marriott during the BIG EAST Conference Tournament Banquet, led by BIG EAST coach of the year Randy Waldrum and BIG EAST midfielder of the year Anne Makinen.

Makinen was joined on the 11-player first team by senior defender Kelly Lindsey and freshman forward Amy Warner, who was the only rookie named to the first team. Three Notre Dame players-junior goaltender Liz Wagner, sophomore defender Vanessa Pruzinsky and senior forward Meotis Erikson-were named to the 11-player second team while Warner, fellow forward Amanda Guertin and midfielder Randi Scheller represented the Irish on the 11-player all-rookie team.

Makinen-the only unanimous first-team selection-is the second BIG EAST player ever to earn first team all-conference honors during each of her four seasons, joining former Notre Dame defender Jen Grubb (1996-99) in that distinction.

Waldrum has been named conference coach of the year for three straight seasons, earning the honor in 1998 during his final season at Baylor and in ’99 during a successful debut season with the Irish. He has guided the current Notre Dame squad to an undefeated record (18-0-1) and the nation’s number-one ranking, despite losing five starters to graduation from the 1999 NCAA runner-up squad (including three All-Americans and Notre Dame’s all-time leading goalscorer).

West Virginia junior forward Katie Barnes was named offensive player of the year while Boston College senior Sarah Powell was tabbed defensive player of the year. Pittsburgh sophomore Rachel Brown picked up the goaltender-of-the-year award while Boston College midfielder Sarah Rahko and West Virginia midfielder Lisa Stoia shared rookie-of-the-year honors.

Barnes (17 goals-9 assists, 43 points) ranks slightly ahead of Makinen (12G-13A, 37) atop the BIG EAST overall scoring charts while Erikson (10G-8A, 30) ranks sixth on that list. Warner (9G-4A, 22) opened the season as the BIG EAST’s top-scoring freshman but missed seven straight games due to injury before coming off the bench in the last two Irish games.

Wagner, Pruzinsky and Lindsey have led a Notre Dame defensive effort that has yielded just six goals and 107 shots (5.6/gm) in 19 games played this season, highlighted by 13 shutouts and just one deficit all season (for 28 minutes vs. BC). Wagner now leads the nation with an 0.29 season goals-against average and carrries a 512-minute shutout streak into Friday’s game versus the Eagles.

Offensive Player of the Year: Katie Barnes, West Virginia, Jr., F
Defensive Player of the Year: Sarah Powell, Boston College, Sr., D
Midfielder of the Year: Anne Makinen, Notre Dame, Sr.
Goalkeeper of the Year: Rachel Brown, Pittsburgh, So.
Co-Rookies of the Year: Sarah Rahko, Boston College, Fr., M/F, Lisa Stoia,
West Virginia, Fr., M
Coach of the Year: Randy Waldrum, Notre Dame

All-BIG EAST First Team: Rachel Brown, Pittsburgh, So., G, Meghan Moore, Boston College, Jr., M/F, Sarah Powell, Boston College, Sr., D, Mary-Beth Bowie, Connecticut, Jr., M/F, Jen Carlson, Connecticut, Sr., F, Mary-Frances Monroe, Connecticut, Jr., M/F, Kelly Lindsey, Notre Dame, Sr., D, *Anne Makinen, Notre Dame, Sr., M, Amy Warner, Notre Dame, Fr., F, Erin O’Grady, Syracuse, Sr., F, Katie Barnes, West Virginia, Jr., F.

* – unanimous selection

All-BIG EAST Second Team: Liz Wagner, Notre Dame, Jr., G, Sarah Rahko, Boston College, Fr., M/F, Casey Zimny, Connecticut, Jr., D, Liz Delgado, Georgetown, Sr., M, Vonda Matthews, Miami, Fr., F, Meotis Erikson, Notre Dame, Sr., F, Vanessa Pruzinsky, Notre Dame, So., D, Keri Lages, Rutgers, Jr., F, Frauke Dittel, Seton Hall, Jr., M/D, Tracy Stalker, Syracuse, Jr., D/M, Rachel Kruze, West Virginia, M.

BIG EAST All-Rookie Team: Sarah Rahko, Boston College, M/F, Vonda Matthews, Miami, F, Amanda Guertin, Notre Dame, F, Randi Scheller, Notre Dame, M, Amy Warner, Notre Dame, F, Carolina Haines, Providence, G, Courtney Rett, St. John’s, D, Jocelyn Dumaresq, Seton Hall, D, Maureen Tohidi, Syracuse, D, Chrissie Abbott, West Virginia, F, Lisa Stoia, West Virginia, M.