Head coach Joe Piane.

Irish Welcome 22 Freshmen To Campus

Aug. 1, 2012

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – As the 2012-13 school year draws closer, the Notre Dame track and field program has announced their incoming freshmen class. Eleven men and 11 women make up a class that looks to help the Irish men defend their 2012 BIG EAST indoor and outdoor titles and help the women take one more step towards a conference crown of their own.

Joining the men’s team are previously announced prep standouts Erick Gebeke and Timothy Ball, along with Michael Clevenger, Kevin Durham, Spencer Rheinhardt, Gil Stamm, Dayton Flannery, Joshua O’Brien, Jack Reiley, Benjamin Harvel and Aaron Dunn.

The women are welcoming previously announced high school stars Molly Seidel, Danielle Aragon and Sydni Meunier, as well as Kelsey Amarosa, Hannah Eckstein, Abbey Murphy, Norah Griffin, Jessica Balko, Margaret Bamgbose, Mikaila Chamblee and Maria Perozzi.

The release on Gebeke, Ball, Seidel, Aragon and Meunier can be found here.


Clevenger, who is in an Illinois state champ in cross country, also was a standout on the track, winning the Midwest Distance Festival mile race in 4:09.01. Clevenger qualified for the Footlocker National Cross Country meet, finishing 25th.

Durham finished third in the California state meet in cross country, and also was a Footlocker qualifier, placing 37th.

Rheinhardt placed second at the Indiana state meet in the 800 with a time of 1:52.32.

Stamm finished 13th at the Indiana state meet in the 1,600m with a time of 4:19.57, while Flannery finished ninth at the New Balance outdoor nationals in the 2K steeplechase.

Harvel, who played defensive back, kick returner and receiver for the 2011 Missouri Class 6A state champions, was the 2011 Missouri 4A state runner-up in the 300 hurdles.

Dunn was a two-time all-state performer, two-time district champion and three-time conference champion in the 300 hurdles.


Eckstein transferred from Johns Hopkins, where she was a DIII All-American in cross country and in the indoor and outdoor 5,000m.

Murphy was a New Jersey prep schools runner-up in cross country and in the 1,600m and 3,200m runs.

Balko won the 1,600m at the Indiana sectionals, while Griffin has posted a personal-best 5:12 for the mile and Amarosa enters Notre Dame with a personal-best 2:15 for the 800m.

A standout on the track, Bamgbose was the 2012 Illinois class 3A state champion in the 300m hurdles, finishing in a time of 41.11, which was the third-fastest time in the U.S. in 2012 for a high schooler. The mark was also the second fastest in Illinois history. She also finished second in the 200m and fourth in the 100m hurdles. In 2011, Bamgbose won a pair of titles with the 4×200 and 4x400m relay teams, and finished second in the 4x100m relay. At the USATF Jr. Olympics, Bamgbose placed fourth in the 400m hurdles.

Chamblee finished third in the 300m hurdles at the 2011 Indiana state meet with a personal-best time of 44.03. She competed at the Indiana state meet three times and won two sectional titles in the 300m hurdles. Chamblee won three events at this year’s sectional meet.

Perozzi is a six-time Illinois all-state relay runner and she ran on the 2011 Illinois class 3A 4x100m state champion relay team.

Men’s Signees
Erick Gebeke (Previously Announced)
Timothy Ball (Previously Announced)
Michael Clevenger
Kevin Durham
Spencer Rheinhardt
Gil Stamm
Dayton Flannery
Joshua O’Brein
Jack Reiley
Benjamin Harvel
Aaron Dunn

Women’s Signees
Molly Seidel (Previously Announced)
Danielle Aragon (Previously Announced)
Sydni Meunier (Previously Announced)
Kelsey Amarosa
Hannah Eckstein
Abbey Murphy
Norah Griffin
Jessica Balko
Margaret Bamgbose
Mikaila Chamblee
Maria Perozzi