Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Irish Varsity Fours Finish First And Third Vs. Kansas

Sept. 28, 2002

MISHAWAKA, Ind. – The University of Notre Dame women’s rowing team took two of the top three positions in the varsity four race against Kansas Saturday on the St. Joseph River. The Irish first varsity four crew won the event by 39 seconds over the Jayhawks’ top boat, while Notre Dame’s second varsity four finished third. Kansas and the Irish will take part in varsity eight competition on Sunday at Noon in completing the only home weekend of action for Notre Dame in the fall season.

The winning Irish crew of senior coxswain Rebecca Campbell (Beloit, Wis.), junior Katie O’Hara (Orland Park, Ill.), sophomores Shannon Mohan (Naperville, Ill.) and Meredith Thornburgh (Indianapolis, Ind.), and junior Megan Sanders (Kendalville, Ind.) finished the course in 15:15.04, while Kansas’ first varsity four posted a time of 15:54.04.

Coxswain Cassie Markstahler (North Manchester, Ind.), Ann Marie Dillhoff (Cincinnati, Ohio), All-American Ashlee Warren (Gibsonburg, Ohio), Becky Luckett (Columbus, Ohio) and Casey Buckstaff (Mt. Prospect, Ill.) comprised the all-senior second varsity four for the Irish, racing to a time of 16:26.34, more than 21 seconds ahead of the other three Jayhawk boats.

Notre Dame’s newest varsity sport has its sights set on a team berth to the 2003 NCAA Championships after qualifying the first varsity eight boat for the NCAAs a year ago. The Irish have started the fall well with a strong showing at last weekend’s Milwaukee Challenge before Saturday’s outing. After Sunday, Notre Dame will travel to Pittsburgh for the Head of the Ohio on Saturday, Oct. 5.

Varsity Four Results

Place School Boat Time

1. Notre Dame A 15:15.04

(Rebecca Campbell-c, Katie O’Hara, Shannon Mohan, Meredith Thronburgh, Megan Sanders)

2. Kansas A 15:54.04

(Jasmin Smith-c, Jen Van Ruyven, Erin Harrington, Lauren Royal, Galina Levin)

3. Notre Dame B 16:26.34

(Cassie Markstahler-c, Ann Marie Dilhoff, Ashlee Warren, Becky Luckett, Casey Buckstaff)

4. Kansas B 16:47.46

(Sara Kilbride-c, Beth Olson, Sarah Sikes, Ashlea Kramer, Erin Hennessey)

5. Kansas D 16:48.00

(Erin James-c, Alexis Boston, Jennifer Pearson, Beth Hickey, Erin Hawley)

6. Kansas C 17:00.86

(Stephanie Pittaway-c, Gillian Van Ruyven, Kristy Hainer, Luci Lyon, Amber Snyder)