Captain Andrea Doud wll be rowing in the second varsity "A" boat on Saturday afternoon.

Irish Rowers Ready For Second Competition Of Spring Season

March 24, 2006

Notre Dame, Ind. – The Notre Dame rowing team will be back in action at the Lubbers Cup in Grand Rapids, Mich., on Sat., March 25. It will be the second competition of the spring season for the Irish who opened last weekend with a regatta against nationally-ranked Tennessee and Minnesota.

In tomorrow’s regatta the Irish will go up against Eastern Michigan, Western Ontario and Grand Valley State. This weekend’s races will be a tuneup for next weekend when the Irish travel to San Diego, Calif., for the prestigious San Diego Crew Classic — a competition that features many of the nation’s top teams.

“I’m looking for us to race really hard on Saturday at the Lubbers Cup,” head coach Martin Stone says. “Even though it is still early in the season, I want us to be aggressive and work towards picking up our speed in the boats.

“We’ll use some different combinations this week. We’re a deep enough team where we have the flexibility to do this, but I do think we are getting close to establishing our boating combinations.

There will be nine crews competing in Saturday’s compeition … Varsity Eight: Maria Romano (coxswain), Julie Sobolewski, Amanda Polk, Mary Quinn, Laura Pearson, Allison Marsh, Melissa Felker, Meghan Boyle and Sarah Palendech.

Second Varsity Eight “A”: Eileen Froehlke (coxswain), Ankica Jedry, Jessica Guzik, Alyssa Close, Danielle Stealy, Andrea Doud, Kendra Short, Sarah Kate Hafner and Pamela Jefson.

Second Varisty Eight “B”: Sarah Keithley (coxswain), Mary McNamara, Shannon Cassel, Betsy Madison, Brittany Burnham, Ashley St. Pierre, Lindsay McQuaid, Casey Fairbanks and Danielle Leary.

Varity Four “A”: Shannan Lettieri (coxswain), Shannon Cassel, Betsy Madison, Casey Fairbanks and Mary McNamara.

Varsity Four “B”: Christina Padayhag (coxswain), Ashley St. Pierre, Erica Castro-Larsen, Alyssa Teves and Kaitlin Jackson. Third Varsity Four: Kelsey Otero (coxswain), Laura Petnuch, Amanda Gonzales, Megan Black and Erica Copeland.

Third Varsity Four: Kelsey Young (coxswain), Mallory Glass, Elli Greybar, Christine Trezza and Lauren Buck.

Novice Eight “A”: Stephanie Szegedi (coxswain), Mallory Glass, Elli Greybar, Christine Trezza, Lauren Buck, Megan Black, Amanda Gonzales, Laura Petnuch and Erica Copeland.

Novice Eight “B”: Sarah Sullivan (coxswain), Stephanie Bauer, Kelsey Reno, Kate Sylvia, Bridget Leone, Vanessa Milano, Katherine Notter, Sabrina Barbosa and Katie Elverman.