Senior Jessie Christian will compete in the long jump this weekend at the Billy Hayes Invitational at Indiana University.

Irish Dominate With 42 Top-Five Finishes At The Polytan Invitational

April 21, 2013

Complete Results

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The University of Notre Dame men’s and women’s track and field teams wrapped up the Polytan Invitational, Saturday (April 20th) registering a total of 14 event victories and 42 top-five finishes on the campus of Indiana University.

Margaret Bamgbose led the women’s team with three event victories (4x100m, 400m, 4x400m), while Patrick Feeney led the men’s side with two event victories (200m, 4x100m).

The Irish are back in action April 26-27 as the student-athletes will split at the each the Drake Relays in Des Moines, Iowa and the Hillsdale Gina Relays in Hillsdale, Mich., before competing in the BIG EAST Championship (May 3-5) in Piscataway, N.J.



Long Jump: Jessie Christian won the event with a winning jump of 5.70m.

100mH: Nevada Sorenson finished first (13.78).

100m: Aijah Urssery was the top finisher with a time of 12.06.

Hammer: Viven Devaney won the event with a hurl of 53.86m.

4x100m: Nevada Sorenson, Margaret Bamgbose, Michelle Brown and Aijah Urssery won the event, stopping the clock at 46.39.

1,500m: Meg Ryan crossed the line at 4:32.95 to finish in third.

800m: Emily Frydrych was the runner-up with a time of 2:11.01.

Shot put: Emily Morris (14.89m) placed fourth followed by Emily Kujawski (12.73m), who finished in fifth place.

Triple Jump: Mary Esther Gourdin was the top-finisher (12.12m). Kelly Burke (11.73m) was second and Jessie Christian (11.50m) was third.

400m: Margaret Bamgbose won the event with a time of 54.19. Amber Lalla (57.95) finished third.

Pole Vault: Ann Polcari picked up a fourth-place finish with a height of 3.67m.

400mH: Megan Yanik won the event with a time of 59.25. Michelle Rotondo (1:02.54) placed second followed by Mikaila Chamblee (1:03.20-fourth) and Jaclyn Winkel (1:03.51-fifth).

200m: Michelle Brown (24.10) placed first overall followed by Aijah Urssery (24.46) who was second.

Discus: Devaney Viven finished fifth with a distance of 42.21m.

4x400m: Megan Yanik, Amber Lalla, Margaret Bamgbose and Michelle Brown won the event for the “A” team with a time of 3:42.97. The Notre Dame “B” team composed of Jaclyn Winkel, Michelle Rotondo, Mikaila Chamblee and Nevada Sorenson placed third stopping the clock at 3:57.09.


5,000m: Jason Hoard placed fourth with a time of 14:50.37.

200m: Patrick Feeney won the event with a time of 20.96. Brendan Dougherty (21.84) placed third.

Shot put: Andrew Brock was the runner-up with a time of 15.02m. Jordan Stumph (13.91m) placed third followed by Dominick Padovano, who placed fourth (13.48m) and Nick Hauser, who finished fifth.


Javelin: Peter Kristiansen finished in third with a leap of 50.72m.

100m: Keith Mesidor was the event runner-up with a time of 11.00.

Long Jump: Keith Mesidor placed second with a leap of 7.16m. Dean Odegard finished fifth (6.15m).

Hammer: Anthony Thomas (55.40m) won the event, while Dominick Padovano (52.79m-second) and Jordan Stumph (52.76m-third) followed.

4x100m: Jarrod Buchanon, Chris Giesting, Brendan Dougherty and Patrick Feeney won the event with a time of 40.96.

800m: Jack Favorite (1:52.64) placed fourth and Eddy Gibbons (1:53.53) finished fifth.

Triple Jump: Logan Renwick won the event with a distance of 14.78m.

400mH: Jarrod Buchanon placed second with a time of 52.77.