Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Beene, Grubb Named BIG EAST Players of the Year

November 5, 1998

VERNON, Conn. – Notre Dame women’s soccer junior All-American’s LaKeysia Beene and Jen Grubb were voted BIG EAST players of the year by a vote of the league coaches during the award ceremony of the BIG EAST championship banquet on Thursday night. Beene was voted BIG EAST goalkeeper of the year, the first time the award has been presented., while Grubb was named BIG EAST defensive player of the year. Grubb is the second straight Notre Dame player to win defense player of the year after former Irish All-American and current U.S. national team member Kate Sobrero won the award as a senior in 1997.

The BIG EAST championship begins on Fri., Nov. 6, at Connecticut’s Joseph J. Morrone Soccer Stadium. Connecticut and Boston College will square off in the first game at 10:00 a.m. Notre Dame and Syracuse will play the second semifinal at 12:00 p.m. The championship game will be played Sun., Nov. 8, at 12:00 p.m. and will be televised live on Fox Sports Chicago.

Seton Hall junior Kelly Smith was voted BIG EAST offensive player of the year for the second consecutive year, while Connecticut’s Mary-Frances Monroe was voted BIG EAST rookie of the year. Connecticut head coach Len Tsantiris was voted conference of the year for the second time in his career.

Beene and Grubb also were named to the All-BIG EAST first team, along with teammates Jenny Heft and Anne Makinen. Notre Dame led the All-BIG EAST first-team with four selections, while Connecticut, Seton Hall and Syracuse each place two on the first team.

Senior forward Monica Gerardo, Notre Dame’s all-time leading goal scorer, was joined on the second team by junior All-American Jenny Streiffer. Irish freshman midfielder Lindsey Jones was a unanimous selection to the BIG EAST all-rookie.