Jackie  Young (5)

Young Named to Cheryl Miller Award Watch List

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Notre Dame women’s basketball is now three-for-three in placing starters on the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame/Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) positional watch lists known as the ‘Naismith Starting Five.’ Junior guard Jackie Young was named to the 2019 Cheryl Miller Award Watch List, which recognizes the top small forward in women’s NCAA Division I basketball.
Last season, Young started all 38 games, averaging the third most points (14.5 ppg) on the national championship squad. Young recorded 10 games of 20-plus points, including her memorable career high 32-point performance against UConn in the National Semifinal.
Young shone brightest against tough opposition, averaging 16.6 points and 6.8 rebounds against the 16 ranked opponents Notre Dame faced last season. Furthermore, Young shot 52.0 percent from the field and collected five double-doubles, as the latter tied for the fourth most by a guard in Notre Dame history.
The Princeton Indiana native averaged 16.3, 8.3 rebounds and 3.7 assists points during the NCAA Tournament. In addition, Young was the only player in the ACC to rank in the top-15 in eight different statistical categories.
The winner of the 2019 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award will be revealed on an ESPN platform during the 2019 Women’s Final Four in Tampa, Florida. The Selection Committee for the Cheryl Miller Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.
For more information and the latest updates on the 2019 Cheryl Miller Award, log onto www.hoophallawards.com and follow @hoophall and #MillerAward on Twitter and Instagram.
2019 Cheryl Miller Award Candidates

Mart’e Grays DePaul
Leaonna Odom Duke
Francesca Pan Georgia Tech
Bridget Carleton Iowa St
Erika Davenport Marquette
Kaila Charles Maryland
Sophie Cunningham Missouri
Lexi Klabo North Dakota
Courtney Woods Northern Illinois
Jackie Young Notre Dame
Ashanti Abshaw Ohio St
Satou Sabally Oregon
Miranda Drummond Syracuse
Rennia Davis Tennessee
Tia Wooten Tennessee St.
Joyner Holmes Texas
Jocelyn Willoughby Virginia
Elisa Penna Wake Forest
Borislava Hristova Washington St.
Naomi Davenport West Virginia

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2018-19 season*
— ND —