Ogunbowale an Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Top Five Finalist

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced the five finalists for the 2019 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award on Tuesday. For the second year in a row, Notre Dame’s Arike Ogunbowale has reached the final five. The annual positional award, now in its second year, recognizes the top shooting guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.
Joining Ogunbowale in the top five are Katie Lou Samuelson (Connecticut), Maci Morris (Kentucky), Asia Durr (Louisville) and Kiana Williams (Stanford).
Among the fivesome, Ogunbowale boasts the most 20-point scoring performances with 21. In addition, Ogunbowale possesses the highest or second highest average in all of the following: points (21.0), rebounds (4.9), shooting percentage (.446), assists (3.9) and steals (1.9) and double-doubles (3).
Over this past weekend, Ogunbowale was announced as a member of the Wooden Award National Ballot along with being named an AAU Award semifinalist. Furthermore, the senior picked up All-ACC Tournament honors, helping the Irish take the league tournament crown for the fifth time in six years.
This month the five finalists will be presented to Ms. Meyers Drysdale and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit www.HoophallAwards.com to cast their votes March 15-29.
The winner of the 2019 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be revealed during the WBCA Coaches’ All-America/Naismith Starting 5 Presentation on Thursday, April 4, at the Women’s Final Four in Tampa, Florida. Florida.
For more information and the latest updates on the 2019 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, log onto www.hoophallawards.com and follow @hoophall and #MeyersAward on Twitter and Instagram. 
 — ND —