Apr 1, 2018; Columbus, OH, USA; Notre Dame Fighting Irish guard Marina Mabrey (3) yells as Mississippi State Lady Bulldogs guard Morgan William (2) and Notre Dame forward Kristina Nelson (21) react during the third quarter in the championship game of the women's Final Four in the 2018 NCAA Tournament at Nationwide Arena. Mandatory Credit: Joe Maiorana-USA TODAY Sports

Mabrey Named to Nancy Lieberman Watch List

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, along with the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association, announced its watch list on Monday for the 2019 Nancy Lieberman Award, which recognizes the top point guard in Division I women’s hoops. Notre Dame senior guard Marina Mabrey was one of the 20 recognized for demonstrating great floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills.
Last season, Mabrey started all 38 games, averaging 14.4 points per game, with 11 games of 20-plus points. During the NCAA Tournament, Mabrey converted 19-of-38 from three (fifth-most all-time in tournament history), while averaging 5.2 assists and 15.8 points per game.
All-in-all, Mabrey knocked down 85 threes on the year, which marked the second most for a single season at Notre Dame. Furthermore, her 194-career made three-pointers ranks fifth in program history and sits just 68 away from tying the program mark of 262 by Alicia Ratay (1999-2003).
Mabrey was a Spokane All-Regional Team selection, Second Team All-ACC honoree and All-ACC Tournament First Team pick. Mabrey moved to the point at the start of ACC play during the 2017-18 season and went on to average 4.8 assists and 2.6 steals per game.
The winner of the 2019 Lieberman Award will be announced in April in Tampa, Florida, in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Final Four and WBCA Convention. Additional awards being presented include the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, the Lisa Leslie Center Award and the Wade Trophy.
For more information on the 2019 Nancy Lieberman Award, visit www.hoophallawards.com, and follow @hoophall and #LiebermanAward on Twitter and Instagram.
2019 Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates

Laia Raventos Charlotte
Kennedy Leonard Colorado
Crystal Dangerfield Connecticut
Kelly Campbell DePaul
Kyra Lambert Duke
Taja Cole Georgia
Kayla Goth Kansas St.
Channise Lewis Maryland
Kenisha Bell Minnesota
Paris Kea North Carolina
Marina Mabrey Notre Dame
Chastadie Barrs Lamar
Carmen Grande Ohio St.
Sabrina Ionescu Oregon
Destiny Slocum Oregon St.
Jessica Kovatch Saint Francis
Tyasha Harris South Carolina
Tiana Mangakahia Syracuse
Evina Westbrook Tennessee
Chennedy Carter Texas A&M

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2018-19 season*
— ND —