March 28, 2001

NOTRE DAME, Ind. —- Troy Murphy (Morristown, N.J.), a two-time consensus All-American, has been selected to the 10-player John R. Wooden All-America team for the second straight year. Murphy joins senior Shane Battier of Duke as the only repeat choice on this year’s Wooden All-America team.

One of the leading vote-getters, the Irish junior forward also is invited to Los Angeles, Calif.., for the April 6 announcement of the 2001 John R. Wooden Award winner as the college basketball player of the year. The presentation of the Wooden Award Trophy to the Player of the Year will be made as part of a live one-hour special show, broadcast on Fox Sports Net.

Murphy shared BIG EAST co-Player of the Year honors this season with Troy Bell of Boston College. The two-time recipient of the league’s player-of-the-award, he is the just the fourth player in conference history to win the award twice. Murphy averaged 21.8 points and 9.2 rebounds this season and became the fifth 2,000-point scorer in Notre Dame history. He also is the only Irish player ever to score more than 2,000 points and grab more than 900 rebounds during his career with career totals of 2,011 points and 924 rebounds in 94 games.

2001 John R. Wooden All-America Team

(listed alphabetically) Shane Battier – Duke
Charlie Bell – Michigan State
Casey Calvary – Gonzaga
Jarron Collins – Stanford
Joseph Forte – North Carolina
Casey Jacobson – Stanford
Tayshaun Princ – Kentucky
Frank Williams – Illinois
Jason Williams – Duke