Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Track and Field Shines At Miami Invitational

April 9, 2000

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Amid harsh weather conditions, a limited Notre Dame track and field squad of 13 field event performers posted five first-place finishes Saturday at the Miami Invitational in Oxford, Ohio.

Irish sophomore Dore DeBartolo (Aurora, Ill.) set a meet, track and improved her school record in the hammer throw, winning the event with a mark of 182-10. DeBartolo’s throw beat the previous meet and track record by almost 14 feet, while she improved on her school record by 11 inches.

DeBartolo was joined in the winner’s circle on the women’s side by freshman Amanda Horvath (Bloomington, Ind.), who tied for first in the shot put with a throw of 41-11 1/4.

The Notre Dame men’s field event performers were led by senior Matt Thompson (Granite Bay, Calif.) who earned victories in the men’s discus (165-6) and men’s hammer throw (174-1) and finished second in the shot put (46-6) behind teammate sophomore Derek Dyer (Huntington, Ind.). Dyer reversed his placing with Thompson in the discus with a second-place throw of 161-4. The Irish men also claimed both the second and third slots in the javelin throw when freshman Mike Madigan (Butler, Pa.) and junior Matt O’Brien (Bryceville, Fla.) tied for second with throws of 177-11.

The Notre Dame men’s and women’s track and field teams return to action next weekend at the prestigious Mt. SAC Relays, April 15-16, in Walnut, Calif.

Miami (OH) University Invitational – – Notre Dame Results Saturday, April 8, Oxford, Ohio

Women’s Shot Put

T1. Amanda Horvath 12.78m (41-11 1/4)

3. Emily Bienko 12.76m (41-10 1/2)

13. Betsy Lazzeri 8.66m (28-5)

Women’s Discus

4. Dore DeBartolo 37.62m (123-05)

Women’s Hammer

1. Dore DeBartolo 55.72m (182-10)

5. Katherine Henze 43.26m (141-11)

Women’s Javelin

6. Andre Duplechain 31.32m (102-9)

Men’s Shot Put

1. Derek Dyer 15.28m (50-1 3/4)

2. Matt Thompson 14.17m (46-6)

8. John Scolaro 11.95m (39-2 1/2)

Men’s Discus

1. Matt Thompson 50.44m (165-6)

2. Derek Dyer 49.18m (161-4)

6. Paul Lewis 41.44m (135-11)

Men’s Hammer

1. Matt Thompson 53.06m (174-1)

3. Niall Cannon 48.84m (160-3)

7. John Scolaro 41.82m (137-2)

Men’s Javelin

2. Mike Madigan 54.22m (177-11)

2. Matt O’Brien 54.22m (177-11)