Samantha Maxwell

Second School Record Falls At Ohio State Invite

Dec. 7, 2008

Complete Results

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Sophomore Samantha Maxwell cemented her name in the Notre Dame record books once again, this time in the 200 Breast during Sunday’s action at the Ohio State Invitational. Maxwell, who broke her own school record in the 100 Breast less than 24 hours prior, went 2:12.46 at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion for an NCAA B-cut. Maxwell set school records in each of the breast events during the 2008 BIG EAST Conference Championships, both of which stood for under ten months.

Behind the efforts of Maxwell and company, No. 24 Notre Dame placed third overall with 458 points to close the three-day invite. Minnesota (1,271) was first among the 11 participating teams with Penn State (843) taking second. The Irish edged out host Ohio State, who finished fourth with 434 points.

Next up for the Irish is a winter training trip to The Bahamas followed by a tri-meet at Northwestern (Jan. 10) with the Wildcats and Toledo.

1,650 Free: Lauren Sylvester (16:57.46), who was ninth with a season-best, led the distance corps … Casey Wagner was two spots back in 17:06.55.

200 Back: Maggie Behrens (2:01.66) paced the Irish with a 10th-place showing and the fastest Notre Dame time of the season … Megan Farrell’s best mark was a 2:03.87 in the finals … she was 13th.

100 Free: Tenth place went to Amywren Miller (50.92), an Irish best on the season … Christa Riggins punched in efforts of 52.89 and 51.91 while Amy Prestinario went 52.58 and 52.26.

200 Breast: Maxwell broke a second record in as many days while earning another NCAA B-cut time … she went 2:12.46 in the final round of the event, cracking the mark she set during last season’s BIG EAST Championships (2:12.76).

200 Fly: Katie Casey led all Irish swimmers with a 10th-place performance in 2:02.36 and a season-best time … Emily Barton went through in 2:03.47 during the finals.

400 Free Relay: Notre Dame staged a sixth-place swim in 3:27.45 … the relay team consisted of Prestinario, Riggins, Farrell and Miller.