Scott Rodgers was a Tewaaraton Trophy nominee last season.

Scott Rodgers Named Tewaaraton Trophy Nominee

April 15, 2009

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Scott Rodgers (Wantagh, N.Y./MacArthur), a senior goalie on the Notre Dame men’s lacrosse team, has been selected as one of 21 nominees for the 2009 Tewaaraton Trophy. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top men’s and women’s collegiate lacrosse player.

Rodgers, a team captain, is a key reason why the third-ranked Fighting Irish are off to the best start in program history with a 10-0 record. He ranks second nationally with a .649 save percentage in addition to being fourth with a 6.91 goals-against average. Rodgers has made 10 or more saves in seven games this season.

Earlier this season, Rodgers was named to the Inside Lacrosse national team of the week after making a career-high 20 saves in a 13-8 victory at Penn State. The Long Island native came up big in the 9-7 triumph of No. 3 North Carolina on March 8 by making 16 saves en route to being selected as the Great Western Lacrosse League (GWLL) player of the week.

Rodgers is the fifth player in Notre Dame history to be tabbed as a nominee for the Tewaaraton Trophy. He joins attackmen Tom Glatzel (2001), David Ulrich (2001), Pat Walsh (2004 & 2005) and goalie Joey Kemp (2008) with that honor.

A list of five finalists for the award will be announced later this spring. The ninth annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held on Thursday, May 28, 2009, at the University Club of Washington, D.C. For more information on the Tewaaraton Trophy, go to

Rodgers and the Fighting Irish are back in action with two games this weekend. Notre Dame will face GWLL foe Quinnipiac on Saturday in Hamden, Conn. at 11:00 a.m. (ET) before coming back home to face St. John’s at 3:00 p.m. (ET) on Sunday at Alumni Field. The Irish are the only undefeated squad among all NCAA Division I men’s lacrosse teams and they boast the nation’s longest home field win streak (24 games).

— ND –