Senior goalie Scott Rodgers made 13 saves to move his record to 6-3 this season.

Scott Rodgers Named A Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Candidate

Feb. 16, 2010

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame senior goalie Scott Rodgers (Wantagh, N.Y./MacArthur) has been named one of 20 candidates for the 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in the men’s lacrosse division. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – classroom, character, community and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Rodgers earned third-team All-America honors last season as he led all Division I goalies in goals-against average (6.14) and save percentage (.663). He started all 16 games in goal for the Fighting Irish and led the squad to a 15-1 record, which established program records for wins and winning percentage in a single season. The Long Island native carries a 3.077 cumulative grade-point average as a sociology major in Notre Dame’s College of Arts and Letters.

Rodgers, a two-time team captain, has been named a preseason first-team All-American by Inside Lacrosse and Matt DaSilva at Lacrosse Magazine. He also was the lone goalie selected to the All-BIG EAST Preseason Team.

The 20 candidates for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of classroom, character, community and competition.

“The lacrosse candidates represent a diverse cross-section of universities and a wide array of academic courses of study,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “But the common denominator is a passion for their sport and for finishing their careers as students and athletes at the top.”

This marks the fourth year for the men’s lacrosse division of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. Cornell University midfielder Max Seibald received the award for the 2009 season and Syracuse University attackman Mike Leveille took home the 2008 honor. In 2007, Cornell goalkeeper Matt McMonagle won the inaugural men’s lacrosse award.

2010 Lowe's Senior CLASS AwardMen's Lacrosse Candidates
Name Position School Colin Ambler Attack DrexelGavin Buckley Goalkeeper St. John'sKen Clausen Defense VirginiaKevin Curtin Attack HobartChris Daniello Attack SyracusePierce Derkac Midfield CornellCharley Dickenson Midfield DenverJason Duboe Midfield HarvardRidge Flick Attack Air ForceBrent Herbst Goalkeeper SienaRyan Hurley Attack CornellMichael Kimmel Midfield Johns HopkinsAndrew Maisano Midfield ArmySean McCoy Goalkeeper VMIScott Monfort Midfield BucknellThomas Muldoon Attack BrownBrian Phipps Goalkeeper MarylandMax Quinzani Attack DukeScott Rodgers Goalkeeper Notre DameKyle Wimer Midfield UMBC