April 28, 2016

Photo Gallery | Stanley Career Statistics | Stanley Final Bio Get Acrobat Reader | Ravens Release

CHICAGO – Former University of Notre Dame offensive tackle Ronnie Stanley was selected by the Baltimore Ravens with the sixth overall pick in the first round of the 2016 NFL Draft Thursday evening at the Auditorium Theater. He became the 65th former Irish player to be drafted in the first round of the NFL Draft.

Stanley is the highest-drafted Notre Dame player since quarterback Rick Mirer was the second-overall selection by the Seattle Seahawks in the 1993 draft. Stanley is the highest drafted Irish offensive lineman since the Atlanta Falcons chose George Kunz with the second pick of the 1969 draft. Stanley is also the second Notre Dame offensive lineman in the last three years to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft joining Zack Martin (16th pick of the 2014 draft by the Dallas Cowboys).

Stanley is the 14th offensive lineman in school history to be taken in the first round of the NFL Draft. In addition to Stanley, Martin and Kunz, 11 other Irish offensive lineman have been chosen in the first round, including Frank Szymanski (sixth overall by the Detroit Lions in 1945), George Connor (fifth overall by the New York Giants in 1946), Bill Fischer (10th overall by the Chicago Cardinals in 1949), Art Hunter (third overall by the Green Bay Packers in 1954), Frank Varrichione (sixth overall by the Pittsburgh Steelers in 1955), Paul Seiler (12th overall by the New York Jets in 1967), Tom Regner (23rd overall by the Houston Oilers in 1967), Andy Heck (15th overall by the Seattle Seahawks), Aaron Taylor (16th overall by the Green Bay Packers in 1994), Luke Petitgout (19th overall by the New York Giants in 1999) and Jeff Faine (21st overall by the Cleveland Browns in 2003).

Stanley becomes the sixth Notre Dame player ever drafted by the Baltimore Ravens and first since Kapron Lewis-Moore in the sixth round of the 2013 draft.

Stanley, who started all 39 games over the last three seasons, was named a consensus All-American in 2015 by the NCAA. He was a first-team pick by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), Walter Camp Football Foundation (WCFF), American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) and The Sporting News. He also was a first-team selection by ESPN, USA Today and CBS Sports, and a second-team choice by the Associated Press and Athlon Sports.

A semifinalist for the 2015 Lombardi and Outland Trophies, Stanley was a dominant force on arguably the top offensive line in all of college football.

1,032: Rushing yards by first-year RB C.J. Prosise in 2015 — the 17th 1,000-yard rushing season in school history
835: Rushing yards by RB Josh Adams in 2015 — most in school history for a freshman
457: Rushing yards vs. UMass — the best rushing total by the Irish in 23 years
299: Rushing yards vs. Stanford — most by an opponent in David Shaw’s five seasons (35 carries for an 8.5 per-carry average against nation’s No. 22 rush defense)
168: Rushing yards by Adams vs. Stanford — breaking the 40-year-old single-game freshman record
150: Rushes for Prosise to reach 1,000 yards in 2015 — second-fewest in school history
98: TD run by Adams vs. Wake Forest — longest play from scrimmage in Notre Dame history and longest rush by a freshman in NCAA history
90: Two TD rushes of at least 90 yards in 2015 (Adams-98 and Prosise-91) — Irish had just two rushes of at least 90 yards in first 126 seasons of Notre Dame football
11: Individual 100-yard rushing games in 2015 — most by the Irish since 1983 (11)
10: Rushing TDs by QB DeShone Kizer — single-season school record for quarterbacks
7: Offensive plays of at least 70 yards — most in the FBS
5.6: Rushing yards per carry — a modern (post WWII) school record

Stanley was Notre Dame’s first consensus All-America offensive lineman since Taylor in 1992 and ’93. He joined Mirko Jurkovic (1991), John Scully (1980), Dave Huffman (1978), Gerry DiNardo (1974), Larry DiNardo (1970), Tom Regner (1966), Dick Arrington (1965), Al Ecuyer (1957), Art Hunter (1953), Jerry Groom (1950), Bill Fischer (1947 and `48), George Connor (1946 and ’47), Jim White (1943), Pat Filley (1943), Ed Beinor (1938), Jack Robinson (1934), Joe Kurth (1932), Tommy Yarr (1931), Jack Cannon (1929), John Smith (1927), Art Boeringer (1926) and Frank Rydzewski (1917) as Irish consensus All-American offensive lineman. Connor, Cannon, Smith, Fischer and Groom are also members of the College Football Hall of Fame.

— ND —