Sophomore right wing Peter Schneider is Notre Dame's 2013 CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Peter Schneider Named Notre Dame Hockey's Scholar-Athlete Of The Year

March 12, 2013

Farmington Hills, Mich. – Notre Dame sophomore right wing Peter Schneider (Vienna, Austria) is one of 11 CCHA hockey players to be named their team’s 2012-13 Scholar Athlete of the Year. From this group of players, the Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) will name its 2013 Scholar-Athlete of the Year on Friday, March 22 at the 2012 CCHA Awards at the Fox Theatre in Detroit, Mich.

Joining Schneider on the list of nominees is:

Name              Class  Position     Team            MajorAdam Henderson     Sr.   Forward      Alaska          Master's Bus. Admin.Ryan Carpenter     So.   Forward      Bowling Green   AccountingJason Binkley      So.   Defense      Ferris State    Business AdministrationKevin Kapalka      Jr.   Goaltender   Lake Superior   Finance and EconomicsSteven Spinell     Sr.   Defenseman   Miami           FinanceLuke Moffatt       Jr.   Forward      Michigan        BusinessGreg Wolfe     Jr.   Forward      Michigan State  Supply Chain ManagementKory Kaunisto      Sr.   Forward      No. Michigan    FinancePeter Schneider      So.   Forward      Notre Dame      Economics/BusinessMax McCormick      So.   Forward      Ohio State      FinanceChase Balisy       Jr.   Forward      West.Michigan   Finance

Schneider, who earned his first monogram last season as a freshman, has seen duty throughout his first two seasons at Notre Dame at right wing. He is a double major in Economics and Business and has a 3.945 grade-point average through his first three semesters. Schneider also has been named to the Dean’s List in each of his first three semesters at Notre Dame.

On the ice, the speedy Schneider has appeared in 30 games and has four goals and four assists for eight points while picking up 14 minutes in penalties. He is +1 for the season.

In two seasons at Notre Dame, Schneider has played in 53 games, scoring six goals and eight assists for 14 points. He has been whistled for 10 penalties for 20 minutes and owns a +4 career plus-minus rating.

The faculty representative at each school, in consultation with the head coach, selected the institution’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Each school’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year serves as the school’s nominee for CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Notre Dame has had two CCHA Scholar-Athlete’s of the Year with Jordan Pearce `09 winning the honor in 2009 and Cory McLean `05, the 2005 winner.

Nominees must have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 through the fall term of the selection year to receive the school’s Scholar-Athlete award. The CCHA award will be selected by the 11 faculty representatives, voting based on a system awarding five points for a first-place vote, three points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote.