Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Ogunbowale Named a Naismith Trophy Semifinalist

Feb. 26, 2018

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Atlanta Tipoff Club released the 10 semifinalists for the Citizen Naismith Trophy Women’s College Player of the Year on Monday, with junior guard Arike Ogunbowale on the list.

From the 10-player list, the Naismith Awards master voting academy will identify the four national finalists, to be announced on March 16. Fans will then be able to vote for their favorite player by visiting between March 19-30 to cast their ballot. The fan component counts for five percent of the overall final vote. The winner will then be revealed on March 31.

Ogunbowale finished the regular season with the top scoring average in the ACC at 20.3 points per game, which also ranks 25th in the country. In addition, Ogunbowale’s 218 total field goals made ranks 15th in the nation.

Ogunbowale proved to be the most consistent performer in the league as well, recording the most 20-point games with 19, three more than the next ACC player in Lexie Brown. Furthermore, Ogunbowale has only posted one game in single digits this season.

The Milwaukee native also ranks 12th in the ACC in free-throw percentage (.795), 14th in steals (1.6), 14th in three-point shooting percentage (.368), 15th in defensive rebounds (4.3) and 10th in minutes played (33.4).

Ogunbowale and the rest of the No. 5 Irish return to action on Friday, March 2, at 6 p.m. ET, officially kicking off their run in the ACC Tournament in Greensboro, North Carolina.