Michael Sennett was a 1991 graduate of Notre Dame and was the captain of the Fighting Irish men's lacrosse team his senior year.

Michael Sennett To Posthumously Receive William D. Reynolds Award

April 18, 2008

Michael Sennett Tribute (by Pete LaFleur)

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — The University of Notre Dame Alumni Association on Saturday at halftime of the Blue-Gold football game at Notre Dame Stadium will present the William D. Reynolds Award posthumously to the family of Michael Sennett, a 1991 graduate and captain of the Notre Dame men’s lacrosse team his senior year.

Sennett, who is honored for his work with young athletes as a coach and mentor, died last April. Accepting the award will be his parents, Dianne and John Sennett.

Established in 1985, the William D. Reynolds Award is conferred on an alumnus/alumna (living or deceased) doing exceptional work with youth for the betterment of the quality of life.

In 1991, Sennett moved to St. Louis to pursue a career with Northwestern Mutual and founded and volunteered as head coach for the lacrosse program at DeSmet Jesuit High School, where he coached for 16 seasons. One of the state’s most successful and highly regarded coaches, he founded leagues, camps and clinics for youths and high school players and, in 2005, was named an inaugural inductee into the Missouri Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

Under his tutelage, DeSmet won six state championships over 16 seasons, and Sennett encouraged his former players to give back by coaching lacrosse at the youth and high school levels. Most recently, he founded a lacrosse program at Matthews-Dickey Boys and Girls Club in downtown St. Louis. Nearly 3,300 people attended his funeral Mass at Cathedral Basilica of St. Louis–a testament to his widespread influence on the lives of others.

Sennett, who also served as a volunteer firefighter for the Boles Fire Protection District and was an active member of St. Clement’s Parish, hailed from a family of Notre Dame alumni. His father, John (1955); three brothers, Tom (1983), Tim (1985) and Matt (1987); and his sister, Julie (1988), attended the University.

Past William D. Reynolds Award winners:
2007 Michael J. Kennelly ’85
2006 David Cleary ’63
2005 Rev. Alfred F. D’Alonzo, C.S.C.’49, ’60 M.A.
2004 Dr. Joseph A. DiCara ’82
2003 Darrell R. Gordon ’88, ’89 M.S.A.
2002 Hon. Jeanne M. Jourdan ’75 J.D.
2000 Benjamin F. Finley Jr. ’60
1999 Thomas A. Jaeb ’56
1998 William V. Mollihan, M.D. ’59
1997 Willie G. Lipscomb Jr. ’75 J.D.
1996 Michael D. Williams ’72
1995 Eugene D. Fanning ’53
1994 Rev. Andre Leveille, C.S.C. ’77 M.Th.
1993 George A. Scheuer ’28, ’75 M.Th.
1992 Lawrence F. Hickey ’42
1991 Sr. M. Jean Lenz, OSF ’67 M.Th.
1990 Dennis P. Cantwell, M.D. ’61
1989 Daniel R. Harshman ’68, ’69 M.A.
1988 Rev. Donald P. McNeill, C.S.C. ’58
1987 Rev. Robert F. Griffin, C.S.C. ’49, ’58 M.A.
1986 Frederic C. Shadley ’48
1985 Lawrence H. Wentz ’59

— ND —