Feb. 27, 2000

Preliminary Results

Final Results

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — The Notre Dame men’s and women’s swimming teams ended their 2000 home campaigns on a high note, capturing 11 of 17 events in the final day of the Shamrock Classic Sunday at Rolfs Aquatic Center. For the two-day meet, the Irish teams won 23 of 35 events.

The Irish women were paced individually on day two by freshman Lindsay Moorhead (Carefree, Ariz.), who was a double event winner in the 200 IM (2:11.28) and the 100 backstroke (59.69). Kerry White (200 breaststroke) and sophomore Brooke Davey (100 freestyle) picked up individual event wins, while the Irish women’s 200 medley and 400 freestyle relays recorded first-place finishes.

In his last meet at Notre Dame, senior Ray Fitzpatrick (Doylestown, Pa.) led the men’s team with event wins in the 200 individual medley (1:54.51 – meet record) and the 200 butterfly (1:54.64). Single event titles went to junior Greg Juszli (Hudson, Ohio) in the 100 backstroke, Dan Szilier (Norristown, Pa.) in the 200 breaststroke, and the 800 freestyle relay team of Jason Colettis (Walpole, Ma.), Jason Fitzpatrick (Gilbert, Ariz.), Grant Burrall (Cedarburg, Wis.) and Ryan Verlin (Rye, N.Y.).

The men’s and women’s diving teams will be in action at the NCAA Zone Diving meet in Minneapolis, Minn., March 10-11. The women’s swimming team will have over two weeks to prepare for the NCAA championships which is scheduled for March 16-18 in Indianapolis, Ind. The men’s NCAA meet will take place in Minneapolis, Minn., March 23-25.