March 4, 2000

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — The Notre Dame men’s and women’s fencing teams won four of six weapon titles to claim the 2000 Midwestern Fencing Conference Team Championship on Saturday at the Joyce Center Fieldhouse. The Irish finished with a total of 860 points to beat out second-place Northwestern (775) and third-place Ohio State (730). Notre Dame swept the men’s weapons and added the women’s foil title to its four wins. The Midwestern Fencing Conference Championships conclude on Sunday with the individual championships slated to begin at 9:00 a.m. at the Joyce Center Fieldhouse.

The Irish held off Ohio State 5-4 to win men’s epee title. Freshman Jan Viviani broke a 4-4 tie with a 5-2 win over Geoff Kane to clinch the win. Notre Dame beat Northwestern 5-1 in the semifinals and Lawrence 5-1 in the quarterfinals to reach the title match. The Irish men’s foil squad rolled to a 5-1 win over Cleveland State in the final after beating Ohio State 5-0 in the semifinals and Purdue 5-1 in the quarterfinals. Eight different foilists accounted for Notre Dame’s 15 wins en route to the title. The Irish men’s sabre team blanked Wayne State 5-0 in the final after defeating Ohio State 5-3 in the semifinals and Detroit 5-0 in the quarterfinals.

On the women’s side, the Irish finished with first-place, second-place and third-place finishes in the three weapons. Senior All-American Magda Krol went 3-0 to help the Irish up end Northwestern 5-3 in the women’s foil title match. Notre Dame beat Cleveland State 5-1 in the semifinals and Michigan 5-1 in the quarterfinals. The women’s sabre team lost to Northwestern 5-2 in the final after winning 5-1 matches against Michigan in the semifinals and Lawrence in the quarterfinals. The Irish women’s epeeist led Wayne State 3-2 in the semifinals before losing three of the last four — including the final two bouts — 5-4 in a 5-4 loss to the Tartars. Notre Dame rebounded to finish third with a 5-4 victory over Ohio State on freshman Anna Carnick’s decisive win.

2000 Midwest Fencing Conference Championships

Final Standings

1. Notre Dame – 860. 2. Northwestern – 775. 3. Ohio State – 730. 4. Michigan – 545. 5. Wayne State – 530. 6. Lawrence – 500. 7. Michigan State – 430. 8. Chicago – 360. 9. Case Western Reserve – 350. 10. Cleveland State – 340. 11. Purdue – 320. 12. Detroit – 265. 13. Minnesota – 125.