Fifth-year senior Maurice Crum Jr. and senior Mike Anello both received two awards Friday evening.

Maurice Crum Jr. One Of 10 Finalists For Inaugural Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

Oct. 23, 2008

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Fifth-year senior linebacker Maurice Crum Jr. has been chosen one of 10 finalists for the 2008 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, announced Thursday. Crum is the fourth Irish student-athlete nominated this fall joining men’s soccer player Matt Besler and women’s soccer players Brittany Bock and Kerri Hanks.

The inaugural class of finalists for the NCAA football division of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award was announced today, launching a nationwide balloting process to determine the 2008 recipient for the honor that combines on-field and off-field achievements for NCAA Division I football seniors in the Bowl Subdivision.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages those leaders to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact on their circle of influence.

Crum graduated last May from Notre Dame with a degree in sociology and is currently enrolled in the graduate studies program. Besides taking part in several community service activities around campus during his tenure at Notre Dame, Crum spent a week in Ghana in June where he helped put together a library and computer lab at an orphanage. From June 10-18, Crum joined eight other students and adults in Accra, Ghana and helped establish a new computer lab with 14 computers, two printers and seating for 24 students. They also brought approximately 2,000 books for the new library and participated in a dedication ceremony involving government and local leaders.

On the football field, Crum is in his second year as captain of the Fighting Irish football team and became just the 17th two-time captain in the football team’s history. His 34 tackles is tied for third on the team and he has started all 43 games in his career to this point. Crum has totaled 275 career tackles and needs 25 more stops to become the ninth player in Irish history to record 300 career tackles.

Joining Crum as 2008 finalists for the NCAA football division are: tight end Travis Beckum (University of Wisconsin – Madison), offensive lineman Jeff Byers (University of Southern California), quarterback Chase Clement (Rice University), quarterback Chase Daniel (University of Missouri – Columbia), linebacker James Laurinaitis (The Ohio State University), center Alex Mack (University of California – Berkeley), defensive tackle Darryl Richard (Georgia Tech University), punter/kicker Louie Sakoda (University of Utah), and kicker Austin Starr (Indiana University).

These 10 senior student-athletes will be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote beginning today and concluding December 10th. Votes from coaches and media will be coupled with fan balloting to determine the recipient of the award. Fans can vote online during this time period at For the first time in the award’s history, text voting will also be available starting Saturday, October 25th. To vote for Crum via text, fans will send the text code FB4 to 839863.