Marty Allen

Marty Allen To Receive 2013 Moose Krause Distinguished Service Award

Jan. 11, 2013

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Notre Dame Monogram Club recently announced that the 2013 Edward “Moose” Krause Distinguished Service Award will be presented to former Monogram Club president Marty Allen (’58).

Allen will receive the award – the highest honor the Monogram Club bestows — at the organization’s annual dinner on Apr. 20 in the Joyce Center.

Currently the Chairman Emeritus and lifetime trustee of the Gerald R. Ford Foundation in his native Grand Rapids, Mich., Allen graduated from Notre Dame in 1958 with a bachelor of science degree and earned his Monogram as a senior football student manager. After serving on active duty as an officer in the U.S. Navy, he went on to earn his MBA from Michigan State University in 1962. Allen has received Honorary Doctorate degrees from Aquinas College and Grand Valley State University in Grand Rapids.

“Since I’ve been involved in the Monogram Club, I know of no person who has done more for his community, his country and our Club than Marty Allen,” Monogram Club president Dick Nussbaum (’74, ’77, baseball) said. “He brings a tremendous institutional knowledge of what our mission is and what our core competencies are. As we navigate through different issues and try to become a better Club, he always brings us back to what our foundational goals ought to be.”

Allen served as Notre Dame`s head football manager in 1957, the year that the Irish team ended Oklahoma’s NCAA-record 47-game winning streak. After his time in the U.S. Navy, Allen became a product manager for Baxter Laboratories in Morton Grove, Ill., before returning to his hometown of Grand Rapids to join Old Kent Bank and Trust Company in 1966.

He retired 31 years later as executive vice president, director of strategic planning and secretary of the bank’s holding company. During his career with the bank and its holding company, Allen was integrally involved in Old Kent’s efforts to nurture the development of the Grand Rapids community and the West Michigan region. For his exceptional service to others, he received commendations from the President of the United States and Governor of the State of Michigan. He continues to be active in a variety of community projects.

Since his retirement, Allen has continued to serve as an influential leader in the Grand Rapids community and at the University of Notre Dame. He was awarded Aquinas College’s prestigious Reflection Award and was granted emeritus trustee status at the school in 2003, following nine years of service as a trustee. Among the many other awards he has received include: Bank Marketing Hall of Fame from the American Bankers Association, University of Notre Dame Exemplar Award and the Notre Dame Alumni Association’s Harvey Foster Award, presented to former Monogram winners in recognition of distinguished service.

In 2009, Allen received the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame Gerald R. Ford Lifetime Achievement Award in “recognition for his contribution to sports and untiring efforts to improve the quality of life for the people of Michigan.”

Over the course of his lifetime, Allen enjoyed a unique relationship with former President of the United States Gerald Ford. The relationship began during Ford’s time as a U.S. congressman representing the Grand Rapids area and grew over the next several years. Ford invited Allen to served on the board of trustees of the newly former Ford Foundation in 1981, and in 1985, Ford appointed Allen as chairman of the board.

He has been a longtime leader of the Monogram Club board, first serving as a board member and then serving six years as part of the President rotation (including as President from ’97-’98) before assuming his current role as a board advisor. During his time as an advisor, Allen has been involved in numerous areas, including the Sports Heritage Hall and the awards program.

He is the first former student manager to be awarded with the Moose Krause Award.


The Moose Krause Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor given by the Notre Dame Monogram Club. It is bestowed upon an active Club member who has achieved notoriety in the following areas:

• Exemplary performance in local, state or national government
• Outstanding dedication to the spirit and ideals of Notre Dame
• Demonstrated responsibility to and concern for their respective communities
• Extraordinary commitment and involvement with youth

The Monogram Club’s officers and board of directors select the annual recipient.

The award is named in honor of Notre Dame athletics legend Edward “Moose” Krause (1913-92), a three-sport monogram winner in the early 1930s who earned All-America honors in football and basketball while also competing in track and field. He later served as an assistant football coach and assistant and head basketball coach at Notre Dame before becoming one of the nation’s most respected athletic directors, serving in that role at his alma mater from 1949-82.

Monogram Club Moose Krause Distinguished Service Award Recipients1979 - Ray Meyer '38 (basketball)1980 - Clarence "Jake" Kline '21 (baseball)1981 - Edward "Moose" Krause '34 (football, basketball)1982 - Harvey Foster '39 (football)1983 - Jim Mello '48 (football)1984 - Ziggy Czarobski '48 (football)1985 - Rev. John Smyth '57 (basketball)1986 - Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C. '39 (honorary member)1986 - Rev. Edmund P. "Ned" Joyce, C.S.C. '37 (honorary member)1987 - Dan Harshman '68 (football)1988 - John Jordan '69 (honorary member)1989 - Leo Barnhorst '49 (basketball)1989 - Bill Hassett '47 (basketball, baseball)1990 - Dave Duerson '83 (football)1991 - Zeke O'Connor `49 (football)1992 - Joseph Signaigo '48 (football)1993 - Fritz Wilson '28 (baseball)1994 - Dr. Dennis Nigro '69 (tennis)1995 - Dick Rosenthal '54 (basketball, baseball)1996 - Chris Zorich '91 (football)1997 - George Kelly '53 (honorary member)1998 - Ara Parseghian (honorary member)1999 - John Carney '87 (football)2000 - Mike Wadsworth '66 (football)2000 - Rev. William Beauchamp, C.S.C. '75 (honorary member)2001 - Rev. Jim Riehle, C.S.C. '49 (honorary member)2002 - Bill Hurd '69 (track and field)2003 - Pete Demmerle '75 (football)2004 - Jim Morse '57 (football)2005 - Rev. Edward A. "Monk" Malloy, C.S.C '63, '67 & '69 (basketball)2006 - Carol Lally Shields '79 (basketball)2007 - Jerome Bettis (football)2008 - Lou Holtz (honorary member)2009 - Mike DeCicco '49 (fencing)2010 - Dennis Stark '47 (honorary member)2011 - Chuck Lennon '61, '62 (baseball)2012 - Joe Kernan '68 (baseball)2013 - Marty Allen ('58, student manager)