Katie Carroll became first Irish women's swimmer to compete at Pan Am Games.

Katie Carroll Qualifies For The NCAA Championship

Nov. 19, 2005

The University of Notre Dame women’s swimming and diving team posted a great all-around team performance on Saturday, day two of the Minnesota Invitational. The team performance was highlighted by junior Katie Carroll’s NCAA automatic qualifying effort in the 400 individual medley, but the Irish also won the 200 medley relay, the 100 backstroke and posted five additional top-five finishes.

Carroll becomes the first Irish swimmer to qualify for the 2006 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championship this season with an outstanding effort in the 400 IM. Carroll touched the wall in 4:15.34, setting a new meet record and surpassing the NCAA “A” cut of 4:15.63. With five other NCAA “B” cuts, Carroll has quickly become a key player in the NCAA Championship field this season. According to meet rules, if a player reaches an “A” cut, they can then compete in other events in which they have achieved a “B” cut. Carroll has posted “B” cuts in the 100 freestyle, 200 freestyle, 200 IM, 100 butterfly and 200 butterfly this season.

Carroll was not done yet on the evening, as she posted a solid second-place finish in the 100 butterfly (53.49).

The 200 medley relay team also enjoyed a solid evening on Saturday, winning the event in 1:43.46. The team was comprised of sophomore Caroline Johnson, junior Julia Quinn, junior Jessica Stephens and junior Rebecca Grove.

Stephens also preformed well as an individual on Saturday, finishing third in the 100 breaststroke with a 1:03.57 effort.

Notre Dame’s third victory was delivered by Caroline Johnson, who out-distanced the field in the 100 backstroke. Johnson struck the pad in 55.77, followed closely by Grove in fifth place with a time of 57.61.

Another notable finish for the Irish came in the 800 freestyle relay, as Carroll, freshman Casey Wagner, freshman Christa Riggins and Grove finished third in 7:24.50.

The meet will wrap up on Sunday with preliminary races in the morning and finals at 3:00 p.m. (CDT).