Anders Lee was named first team all-CCHA for the 2012-13 season.

Junior Center Anders Lee Named First Team All-CCHA

March 13, 2013

Notre Dame, Ind. – Notre Dame junior center Anders Lee (Edina, Minn.) has been selected first team all-CCHA as the conference announced its all-conference teams this morning. Fellow junior Bryan Rust (Novi, Mich.) was an honorable mention choice to the all-conference team while center T.J. Tynan (Jr., Orland Park, Ill.) and defenseman Robbie Russo (So., Westmont, Ill.) received votes in voting done by the conference’s coaches.

Lee, who was an honorable mention selection as a sophomore, finished second in the voting among conference forwards, as he received seven first-place votes for 44 points. This marks the second time that the Irish team captain has been selected to a CCHA all-conference team, as he was a second team choice as a freshman in 2010-11.

He becomes the second Notre Dame player, joining Tynan, to be named to an all-CCHA team twice in his career and is the fifth Irish player in the 23 seasons that the Irish have played in the conference to be a first team selection as he joins Tynan, defenseman Ian Cole, goaltender David Brown `07 and defenseman Benoit Cotnoir `99. Lee, joins Tynan and defenseman Jack Brownschidle `77 as the only Notre Dame players ever selected to two all-conference teams as Brownschidle was a two-time, first-team all-WCHA selection in 1976 and 1977.

The 6-3, 220-pound center was second in the conference in goals scored with 14 in league games and tied for fourth in the league-scoring race with 26 points. He led the CCHA with a +18 mark in the 28 regular-season conference games.

Overall, Lee currently leads the Irish in scoring with 18 goals and 16 assists for 34 points in 36 games and is third on the squad with a +16 mark. His 120 shots is top on the squad. Among his 18 goals are three power-play markers, one short-handed goal and one game winner. In three seasons at Notre Dame, Lee has played in 120 games with 59 goals and 53 assists for 112 career points.

Junior right wing Bryan Rust was an honorable mention all-CCHA selection.

Rust turned in the best season of his Irish career in 2012-13 with career highs in goals (12), assists (17), points (29), power-play goals (4), game winners (3) and shots on goal (101) and his +21 was the best overall mark on the team. He finished second to Lee in scoring overall and tied him for fourth in the conference-scoring race with 26 points on 11 goals and 15 assists.

Tynan was fourth on the squad in scoring with nine goals and 16 assists for 25 points and had four power-play goals, a short-handed tally and three game winners while being +1 on the year. A second team all-CCHA choice in 2010-11 and a first team choice last season, the speedy center had seven goals and 13 assists for 20 points in conference games. He did receive one first place vote and eight points overall in the coaches’ voting.

Russo also picked up one first-place vote after turning in a career year on the Notre Dame blue line as he led all Notre Dame defensemen in scoring with five goals and 16 assists for 21 points, all career highs. He was +7 on the year and had four power-play goals and two game winners. He tied for second among CCHA defensemen in league-game scoring with four goals and 13 assists for 17 points and was second in overall scoring.

In all, seven different teams placed players on the 2012-13 all-CCHA teams highlighted by Miami placing two players on the first team while Western Michigan lead the way with three choices between the first and second teams. Ohio State and Bowling Green each had two players chosen while Notre Dame, Michigan and Alaska had one player chosen.

Joining Lee at forward on the 2012-13 team were a pair of Miami forwards, sophomore Austin Czarnik and freshman Riley Barber. Czarnik lead the voting with eight first-place votes and 46 points in all. He tied Lee for fourth in the scoring race (8-18-26) and was fourth overall with 33 points. Barber had five first-place votes and 40 points as he led the league in overall scoring as a rookie with 15 goals and 21 assists for 36 points.

Rounding out the first team were defensemen Jacob Trouba of Michigan and Dan DeKeyser of Western Michigan while Ohio State goaltender Brady Hjelle was the first-team goaltender. Trouba, a freshman, tied Czarnik with eight first-place votes and had 43 points. He was the conference’s top defenseman in scoring with seven goals and 18 points. DeKeyser had six first-place votes and 36 points. Hjelle also garnered six first-place votes and 39 points in all as he had a conference high four shutouts and was second with a .937 save percentage and a 1.89 goals-against average.

Taking second team honors were sophomore forwards Tanner Fritz of Ohio State and Ryan Carpenter of Bowling Green who were joined by senior Andy Taranto of Alaska. The second team defensive pairing was made up of a pair of seniors – Luke Witkowski of Western Michigan and Bobby Shea of Bowling Green. Sophomore Frank Slubowski of Western Michigan was the second team goaltender for the 2012-13 season.

The team’s were selected in voting by the league’s coaches and are based on performance in conference games. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

2012-13 CCHA All-Conference Teams
First TeamPosition Name (Yr.) School First Totals
Forward Austin Czarnik (So.) Miami 8 46Forward Anders Lee (Jr.) Notre Dame 7 44Forward Riley Barber (Fr.) Miami 5 40Defense Jacob Trouba (Fr.) Michigan 8 43Defense Dan DeKeyser (Jr.) Western Michigan 6 36Goaltender Brady Hjelle (Sr.) Ohio State 6 39
Second TeamPosition Name (Yr.) School First TotalsForward Tanner Fritz (So.) Ohio State 2 32Forward Ryan Carpenter (So.) Bowling Green 1 22Forward Andy Taranto (Sr.) Alaska 2 20Defense Luke Witkowski (Sr.) Western Michigan 3 26Defense Bobby Shea (Sr.) Bowling Green 2 25Goaltender Frank Slubowski (So.) Western Michigan 4 27

Vote Values: 1st place = 5, 2nd place = 3, 3rd place = 1

Honorable Mention (next six point totals, regardless of position with first team votes in parentheses): Ryan Dzingel, So., F, Ohio State (2) 17; Domenic Monardo, Sr., F, Lake Superior (2) 16; Kyle Bonis, Sr., F, Ferris State, (1), 16; Matthew Caito, Fr., D, Miami (1), 15; C.J. Motte, So., G, Ferris State, 14; Bryan Rust, Jr., F, Notre Dame, 11.

Others receiving votes:ââ’¬¯ Forwards – T.J. Tynan, Jr., Notre Dame (1) 8; Chase Balisy, Jr., Western Michigan, 8; Cody Kunyk, Jr., Alaska (1) 6; Matt Thurber, Sr., Northern Michigan, 4; Dan Walters, Sr., Western Michigan, 4; Cristoval Nieves, Fr., Michigan, 1; Reed Seckel, So., Northern Michigan, 1; Garrett Thompson, Jr., Ferris State, 1.

Defensemen – Robbie Russo, So., Notre Dame (1) 9; Mac Bennett, Jr., Michigan, (1) 8; Colton Parayko, Fr., Alaska, 8; Jason Binkley, So., Ferris State, 6; Simon Denis, So., Ferris State, 6; Craig Dalrymple, Fr., Ohio State, 4; Steven Spinell, Sr., Miami, 4; Trevor Campbell, So., Alaska, 3; Scott Macaulay, Sr., Northern Michigan, 3; Curtis Gedig, Jr., Ohio State, 1; CJ Ludwig, Jr., Northern Michigan.

Goaltenders – Andrew Hammond, Sr., Bowling Green, 8; Jared Coreau, Jr., Northern Michigan, 6.