Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

John Wroblewski Named One Of 15 Nominees For College Hockey's Humanitarian Award

Jan. 15, 2003

Notre Dame, Ind. – University of Notre Dame hockey standout John Wroblewski (Sr., Neenah, Wis.) has been selected as one of 15 finalists for the college hockey Humanitarian Award. The award is presented every year to college hockey’s finest citizen for their contributions to society in all areas.

This is the eighth year for the award that will be presented on April 11, 2003 in Buffalo, N.Y., at the NCAA Frozen Four.

Wroblewski is a senior alternate captain for the Irish. He is in the midst of his best season ever as he is tied for second on the Notre Dame scoring list with 10 goals and 12 assists for 22 points in 22 games. He has turned in career-highs in assists (12), points (22) and power-play goals (4) so far this season.

Off the ice, Wroblewski has been involved with Notre Dame athletics community service programs since joining the team in 1999. He is a member of the team’s five-man leadership committee and was the team organizer for Notre Dame’s “Buddy Walk” to benefit kids with Downs Syndrome last September. He has also participated in the other various university sponsored community service projects including Christmas in April, the team’s annual Power Play Run/Walk and the team’s annual Christmas party with local cancer patients.

Joining Wroblewski on the list of 15 nominees are fellow CCHA players Mike Betz (Jr., Ohio State) and Brad Fast (Sr., Michigan State). The remainder of the list includes: Jennifer Agnew (Sr., Vermont), Rachel Barrie (Jr., St. Lawrence), Stacey Bauman (Sr., Yale), John Flint (Sr., St. Michael’s), Patrick Foley (Sr., New Hampshire), Chanda Gunn (Jr., Northeastern), Brian Isola (Sr., Neumann), Deanna McDevitt (Sr., Yale), Sam Paolini (Sr., Cornell), Chantelle Russell (Sr., Findlay), Kristin Sahlem (Sr., Manhattanville) and Maris Ziedins (Sr., St. Norberts).

All 15 finalists will be honored at a home game prior to the end of the season.