Junior 3B and All-American candidate Eric Jagielo

Jagielo Named Golden Spikes Award Semifinalist

May 29, 2013

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – University of Notre Dame junior 3B Eric Jagielo was named one of 30 semifinalists for the 2013 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award. This marks the 36th consecutive year that the award has been presented to the nation’s top amateur baseball player.

Jagielo not only led the league in slugging percentage (.633) and on-base percentage (.500), but also ranked second in batting (.388), tied for second in home runs (nine), tied for fourth in total bases (124), fifth in doubles (19), tied for fifth in RBI (53), eighth in walks (35), eighth in hits (76) and tied for 10th in runs scored (47).

Only five players in the entire country have both a higher batting average (.388) and more home runs (nine) than Jagielo. He fell three base hits shy of becoming the first Notre Dame player to bat .400 over the course of an entire season since Cooper in 2006 (.425). Jagielo would have been the 10th player in the 120-year history of Irish baseball to accomplish the feat.

Jagielo ranked second on the team in multi-hit games (23) and led the club in multi-RBI outings (16). He was held hitless in just eight of his 56 games played this year. Jagielo has failed to reach base in a game just twice all year.

Jagielo was already named the 2013 BIG EAST Player of the Year. He was the fourth player in school history to earn the conference’s top honor and first since Craig Cooper in 2006. Notre Dame’s two other BIG EAST player of the year winners include Brant Ust (1998) and Steve Stanley (2001 and 2002).

GoldenSpikesAward.com — powered by MLB Advanced Media — will once again be the online home for the award. The website features content devoted exclusively to the GSA, including news, voting history, past winner photo galleries, and photographs and biographical information for the 2013 semifinalists. Fans can follow online at GoldenSpikesAward.com as the list of 30 players is narrowed to three finalists on Tuesday, June 4.

For the third year in a row, the GSA will be awarded live on MLB Network. On Friday, July 19, the three finalists for the award will be at the live presentation, which will air during The Rundown – at 2 p.m. ET – featuring interviews, video highlights and the announcement of the winner. The presentation will also be simulcast live on GoldenSpikesAward.com and USABaseball.com.

In 2007, USA Baseball instituted a new selection and balloting procedure for the most prestigious award in amateur baseball, and it will follow the same model again in 2013. After working closely with sports information directors and amateur baseball media across the country to determine watch lists and the top-performing athletes, a committee voted to determine the 30 semifinalists. A ballot featuring the names and accomplishments of the 30 semifinalists will now be sent to a group of more than 220 voters which will select the three finalists and eventual winner. Beginning today fans will also be able to vote on the 2013 GSA by visiting GoldenSpikesAward.com and selecting their favorite amateur player.

“USA Baseball congratulates each of the 30 student-athletes and their respective baseball programs,” said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball Executive Director/CEO. “The move to MLB Network two years ago was a significant step toward increasing exposure for the award among players, schools and fans, and we look forward to building on that excitement for 2013. We wish all of the semifinalists the best of luck.”

Important 2013 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award dates include:

Thursday, Feb. 14 — 50-man preseason Watch List released, shaped by USA Baseball officials and advisors
Thursday, May 2 — 60-man midseason Watch List released, shaped by USA Baseball officials and advisors
Tuesday, May 28 — 30 semifinalists announced, selected by USA Baseball officials, semifinalist voting begins, voters select three
Friday, May 31 — Deadline to vote for finalists, 5 p.m. ET
Tuesday, June 4 — Three finalists announced, finalist voting begins, voters to select one
Friday, June 14 — Deadline to vote for winner, 5 p.m. ET
Friday, July 19 — Live Golden Spikes Award presentation airing on MLB Network’s The Rundown and simulcast on GoldenSpikesAward.com and USABaseball.com

A complete list of the 30 2013 Golden Spikes Award semifinalists is as follows:

Name, Position, Class, School, Conference Mark Appel, RHP, Senior, Stanford, Pac-12
Tyler Beede, RHP, Sophomore, Vanderbilt, SEC
David Berg, RHP, Sophomore, UCLA, Pac-12
Alex Bregman, IF, Freshman, Louisiana State, SEC
Kris Bryant, UTIL, Junior, San Diego, West Coast
Kerry Doane, RHP, Senior, East Tennessee State, Atlantic Sun
Hunter Dozier, IF, Senior, Stephen F. Austin, Southland
Kent Emanuel, LHP, Junior, North Carolina, ACC
Thomas Eshelman, RHP, Freshman, Cal State Fullerton, Big West
Zane Evans, C/RHP, Junior, Georgia Tech, ACC
Marco Gonzales, LHP, Junior, Gonzaga, West Coast
Jonathan Gray, RHP, Junior, Oklahoma, Big 12
Eric Jagielo, IF/OF, Junior, Notre Dame, Big East
Mason Katz, IF, Sr, Louisiana State, SEC
Tony Kemp, OF, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC
Michael Lorenzen, OF/RHP, Junior, Cal State Fullerton, Big West
Kyle McGowin, RHP, Sophomore, Savannah State, Mid-Eastern
Colin Moran, IF, Junior, North Carolina, ACC
Aaron Nola, RHP, Sophomore, Louisiana State, SEC
Justin Parr, OF, Senior, Illinois, Big 10
D.J. Peterson, IF, Junior, New Mexico, Mountain West
Nick Petree, RHP, RS Junior, Missouri State, Missouri Valley
Jimmie Sherfy, RHP , Junior, Oregon, Pac-12
Ryne Stanek, RHP, Junior, Arkansas, SEC
Mike Tauchman, OF, Senior, Bradley, Missouri Valley
Jeff Thompson, RHP, Junior, Louisville, Big East
Trea Turner, IF, Sophomore, NC State, ACC
Bobby Wahl, RHP, Junior, Mississippi, SEC
Jimmy Yezzo, IF, Junior, Delaware, Colonial Athletic
Kevin Ziomek, LHP, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC

About the Golden Spikes Award
Since 1978, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first-ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. The 2012 Golden Spikes Award winner was Mike Zunino of the University of Florida. Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball players such as Bryce Harper (’10), Stephen Strasburg (’09), Buster Posey (’08), David Price (’07), Tim Lincecum (’06), Alex Gordon (’05), Jered Weaver (’04), Rickie Weeks (’03) and Mark Kotsay (’95). Former Major League stars that have captured the award include Pat Burrell (’98), Robin Ventura (’88), Jim Abbott (’87), Will Clark (‘8 5), Dave Magadan (’83), Te rry Francona (’80), Tim Wallach (’79), and Horner (’78). For more information, please visit GoldenSpikesAward.com. Fans can follow the Golden Spikes Award on Twitter @USAGoldenSpikes.

About USA Baseball
USA Baseball is the national governing body for the sport of baseball in the United States and is a member of the United States Olympic Committee (USOC) and the International Baseball Federation (IBAF). The organization selects and trains the World Baseball Classic, World Cup and Pan Am teams (and all other USA Baseball Professional Teams); the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team; the USA Baseball 18U, 15U and 12U National Teams; and the USA Baseball Women’s National Team, all of which participate in various international competitions each year. USA Baseball also presents the Golden Spikes Award annually to the top amateur baseball player in the country. For more information, please visit USABaseball.com.

— ND —