Senior Spencer Talmadge won a close match on Friday, 4-6, 6-3, 1-0 (10-8), against Stuart Kenyon of Alabama.

Irish Win 10 Matches On Day One Of Tom Fallon Invitational

Oct. 5, 2012

Complete Results | Photo Gallery

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Notre Dame men’s tennis team earned 10 wins in 13 matches on day one of the Tom Fallon Invitational Friday at the Eck Tennis Pavilion.

Playing against student-athletes from the University of Alabama, the Irish won seven of eight matches against the Crimson Tide, including a thrilling win from senior co-captain Blas Moros to close out the evening.

Moros took down Daniil Proskura, 7-5, 5-7, 1-0 (11-9) to end the night on a high note for the Irish. Fellow senior Spencer Talmadge defeated Stuart Kenyon, 4-6, 6-3, 1-0 (10-8) in another thriller, while junior Billy Pecor lost to Becker O’Shaughnessey in the only other third set super set match, 7-6 (2), 4-6, 1-0 (10-6).

Junior Ryan Bandy rolled past David Vieyra, 6-2, 6-0, and sophomore Wyatt McCoy topped Philippe Tsangarides 6-3, 6-2, while a trio of freshmen earned wins.

Quentin Monaghan defeated Jarryd Botha, 6-4, 6-0, Alex Lawson won a close match against Rens van der Vis, 7-5, 6-3, and Kenneth Sabacinski knocked off Harris Barnard, 6-2, 6-3.

Earning wins in the morning session were freshman Nicolas Montoya and sophomores Dougie Barnard and Michael Fredericka. Montoya knocked off Northern Illinois’ Jovan Zeljkovic, 6-3, 4-6, 1-0, Barnard rolled past NIU’s Max Phillips, 6-3, 6-3 and Fredericka topped the Huskies’ Simon Formont, 6-4, 6-2.

Day two gets underway at 9 a.m. and will feature a morning and afternoon session at the Eck.

Evening Session
Blas Moros (ND) d. Daniil Proskura (UA), 7-5, 5-7, 1-0 (11-9)
Becker O’Shaughnessey (UA) d. Billy Pecor (ND), 7-6 (2), 4-6, 1-0 (10-6)
Quentin Monaghan (ND) d. Jarryd Botha (UA), 6-4, 6-0
Wyatt McCoy (ND) d. Philippe Tsangarides (UA), 6-3, 6-2
Ryan Bandy (ND) d. David Vieyra (UA), 6-2, 6-0
Alex Lawson (ND) d. Rens van der Vis (UA), 7-5, 6-3
Spencer Talmadge (ND) d. Stuart Kenyon (UA), 4-6, 6-3, 1-0 (10-8)
Kenneth Sabacinski (ND) d. Harris Barnard (UA), 6-2, 6-3

Afternoon Session
Dor Amir (NIU) d. Kenneth Sabacinski (ND), 6-2, 6-1
Axel Lagerlof (NIU) d. Michael Moore (ND), 5-7, 6-4, 1-0
Nicolas Montoya (ND) d. Jovan Zeljkovic (NIU), 6-3, 4-6, 1-0
Dougie Barnard (ND) d. Max Phillips (NIU), 6-3, 6-3
Michael Fredericka (ND) d. Simon Formont (NIU), 6-4, 6-2