Eddy Covalschi and partner Josh Hagar will compete in Monday's doubles championship at the USTA/ITA Midwest Regional in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Irish Upset Irish, Earn Bid Into Doubles Championship At Midwest Regionals

Oct. 19, 2014


(Works Best On Internet Explorer)

ANN ARBOR, Mich. — By mid-afternoon Sunday, it became clear that the Notre Dame men’s tennis team would be sending a doubles tandem into the championship round of the USTA/ITA Midwest Regional Championships at the Varsity Tennis Center in Ann Arbor.

The only question was, “Which one?”

Ninth-seeded pair Eddy Covalschi and Josh Hagar upset 27th-ranked and second-seeded Irish teammates Alex Lawson and Billy Pecor, 4-6, 7-5, 10-6, in Sunday’s semifinal matchup to get a shot at Ohio State’s top-seeded Raif Steinbach and Kevin Metka.

Earlier Covalschi and Hagar dispatched Michigan’s Alex Petrone and Runhao Hua, 8-0, while Lawson and Pecor breezed by DePaul’s Kyle Johnson and Sten Leusink.

In the singles draw, lone remaining Irish competitor Eric Schnurrenberger fell to No. 6-ranked Jared Hiltzik (Illinois), 6-3. 6-4. Hiltzik will compete in Monday’s singles championship.

Both doubles and singles championships will take place at 9 a.m. Monday at the Varsity Tennis Center at the University of Michigan.

Monday Matches

Doubles Main Draw


Eddy Covalschi / Josh Hagar vs. Raif Steinbach / Kevin Metka (Ohio State), 9 a.m.

Sunday Matches

Singles Main Draw


No. 6 Jared Hiltzik (Illinois) def. Eric Schnurrenberger, 6-3, 6-4

Doubles Main Draw


Eddy Covalschi / Josh Hagar def. Alex Lawson / Billy Pecor, 4-6, 7-5, 10-6


Jeffrey Schorsch / Charlie Emhardt (Valparaiso) def. Drew Dawson / Eric Schnurrenberger, 8-1

Eddy Covalschi / Josh Hagar def. Alex Petrone / Runhao Hua (Michigan), 8-0

Alex Lawson / Billy Pecor def. Kyle Johnson / Sten Leusink (DePaul), 8-2

Saturday Matches

Singles Main Draw

Second Round

No. 6 Jared Hiltzik (Illinois) d. Alex Lawson, 4-6, 6-1, 6-2

Eric Schnurrenberger d. No. 92 Herkko Pollanen (OSU), 6-3, 6-3

Josh Hagar d. Brett Forman (MSU), 6-3, 7-6

Eddy Covalschi d. Mihir Kumar (NU), 7-6, 6-3

Round of 16

Eric Schnurrenberger d. Stjepan Sisko (Toledo), 6-3, 2-6, 6-3

Alex Petrone (Michigan) d. Josh Hagar, 6-4, 6-4

John Patrick Mullane (Michigan State) d. Eddy Covalschi, 6-0, 6-3

Consolation Matches
Joseph Dodridge (Wisconsin) d. Kenneth Sabacinski, 6-2, 6-1
Alex Pasareanu (Northwestern) d. Wyatt McCoy, 6-4, 7-6 (7-3)

Doubles Main Draw

Second Round (followed by Round of 16)

Steinbach / Metka (Ohio State) d. Wyatt McCoy / Kenneth Sabacinski, 8-5

Drew Dawson / Eric Schnurrenberger d. Baev / Shropshire (Northwestern), 8-7 (7-5)

Eddy Covalschi / Josh Hagar d. Sisko / Meza (Toledo), 8-2

Alex Lawson / Billy Pecor d. Fernandez / Tehrani (Marquette), 8-3

Round of 16

Drew Dawson / Eric Schnurrenberger d. Lloveras / Theodor (UIC), 8-1

Eddy Covalschi / Josh Hagar d. Dube / Roy (Michigan State), 8-7 (7-5)

Alex Lawson / Bully Pecor d. Galoustian / de Veer (Cleveland State), 8-3

Friday Matches

Singles Qualifying Draw


Patryk Koscielski (Detroit), def. Billy Pecor, 6-4, 6-4

Singles Main Draw

Alex Lawson def. Joe VanMeter (Cleveland State), 6-7 (3-7), 6-4, 7-5

Eric Schnurrenberger def. Toshiki Matsuya (Illinois), 6-7 (2-7), 6-4, 6-4

Josh Hagar def. Brian Page (Illinois), 7-6 (7-2), 6-4

Runhao Hua (Michigan) def. Kenneth Sabacinski, 6-2, 6-0

Eddy Covalschi def. Mark Singnil (Toledo), 6-3, 7-6 (7-4)

Doubles Main Draw

First Round

Wyatt McCoy / Kenneth Sabacinski def. Andres Cobos / Daniel Cardenas (IPFW), 8-4

Teofanovic / Dykema (Marquette) def. Dougie Barnard / Brendon Kempin, 8-5

Drew Dawson / Eric Schnurrenberger def. Alexander Kim / Doug Zade (MSU), 8-3

Johnson / Leusink (DePaul) def. Michael Fredericka / Nicolas Montoya, 8-4

Eddy Covalschi / Josh Hagar def. Gleb Sklyr / Scott Christian (Marquette), 8-3

No. 27 Alex Lawson / Billy Pecor def. Patryck Kocielski / Chance Conley (Detroit), 8-4

Thursday Matches

Singles Qualifying Draw

First Round

Brendon Kempin def. Rafael Orantes (Detroit), 1-6, 6-4, 6-4

Wyatt McCoy def. Andres Cabos (IPFW), 6-4, 6-3

Billy Pecor def. Michael Savaglio (Valparaiso), 6-1, 6-1

Alp Horoz (NU) def. Michael Fredericka, 6-3, 6-4

Charlie Ernhardt (Valparaiso) def. Drew Dawson, 6-3, 6-2

Second Round

Alberto Zanotti (NU) def. Brendon Kempin, 6-0, 6-1

Billy Pecor def. Daniel Cardenas (IPFW), 6-1, 6-2

Michael Sinha (Wisconsin) def. Wyatt McCoy, 6-3, 4-6, 6-4

by Joanne Norell, Media Relations Assistant