Notre Dame's second varsity crew will be competing for the Jackie Ann Stitt Hungress Trophy on Sunday.

Irish Second Varsity Eight Advances To Grand Final At San Diego Crew Classic

April 4, 2009

SAN DIEGO, Calif. – The University of Notre Dame second varsity eight boat has qualified for the grand final in the Women’s Collegiate JV race for the Jackie Ann Stitt Hungress Trophy. The Irish first varsity eight crew will be racing in the Women’s Collegiate Varsity Invitational Petite final. Both races are scheduled to take place on Sunday, Apr. 5 at Mission Bay in San Diego, Calif.

The Irish second varsity eight boat, crewed by coxswain Kelsey Otero (Mequon, Wis.), Megan Keegan (Marietta, Ohio), Mallory Glass (Fernandina Beach, Fla.), Carol Ann Michel (Princeton, N.J.), Erin McConnell (Simsbury, Conn.), Genevive Malone (Dayton, Ohio), Morgan Kelley (Windermere, Fla.), Elli Greybar (Western Springs, Ill.) and Erica Copeland (Marietta, Ga.), was able to earn its way into the Collegiate JV Grand Final (Race 71) by earning a second place finish in the B-Group qualifying race on Saturday, Apr. 4. The crew was able to cross the finish line with a time of 7:06.49, placing them in second behind the winning crew of Washington, which finished with a time of 6:56.90. The B-group was rounded out by Iowa (7:11.17), UCLA (7:15.49) and St. Mary’s (Calif.) (7:47.17). The Grand Final is made up of the top two qualifying teams from each of the three heats. Alongside of Washington and Notre Dame, the Grand Final field will be rounded out by Wisconsin (6:59.08), USC (6:59.10), Oregon State (7:00.89) and Michigan (7:01.71). The final is tentatively scheduled to take place on Sunday at 1:00 p.m. (ET)/10:00 a.m. (PT) with the winner being awarded the Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy.

The Notre Dame first varsity eight boat will also be in action on Sunday, as the Irish crew will compete in the collegiate varsity invitational petite final. The crew of coxswain Stephanie Szegedi (South Lyon, Mich.), Anni Nowhitney (Ballston Spa, N.Y.), Casey Robinson (Alexandria, Va.), Katherine Linnemanstons (Mequon, Wis.), Brittney Kelly (Wexford, Pa.), Christine Trezza (Staten Island, N.Y.), Emily Crosby (Middletown, N.J.), Christina Buckley (Huntington, N.Y.) and Lauren Buck (Flint, Mich.) raced well in a deep field made up of No. 4 Washington, No. 6 Michigan, No. 18 Oregon State, undefeated Iowa and UC-Davis. The Irish boat raced neck and neck with Iowa for the fourth spot in the qualifying race before finally ending the race in fifth with a final time of 6:51.07. The race victory went to Michigan in 6:37.76, followed by Washington (6:40.62) and Oregon State (6:42:31). Iowa (6:45.01) and UC-Davis (7:01.30) will join the Irish in the petite final (Race 65) on Sunday. Notre Dame’s finishing time earned the crew the third lane in the petite final tomorrow, with Iowa capturing the first lane and UCLA (6:45.78) grabbing second from the B-group qualifier. The five-boat field is rounded out by Miami (6:58.88) and UC-Davis. The varsity invitational petite final is slated to race at 11:50 a.m. (ET)/8:50 a.m. (PT) on Sunday morning.

Continue to tune into for live streaming video, as the Irish compete for the Collegiate JV grand final championship and varsity invitational petite final championship, along with full race coverage of all other races taking place.

Results from Day 1 of San Diego Crew Classic:

Women’s Collegiate Varsity Invitational Qualifier Group A:

1. No. 6 Michigan 6:37.76

2. No. 4 Washington 6:40.62

3. No. 18 Oregon State 6:42.31

4. Iowa 6:45.01

5. Notre Dame 6:51.07

6. UC-Davis 7:01.30

Women’s Collegiate JV Qualifier Group B:

1. Washington 6:56.90

2. Notre Dame 7:06.49

3. Iowa 7:11.17

4. UCLA 7:15.49

5. St. Mary’s (Calif.) 7:47.17