Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Irish Garner Several All-ACC Team Honors

NOTRE DAME, Indiana — In its first year as an ACC member, Notre Dame garnered 12 All-ACC team selections as awarded by the conference. Five selections came on the first team, as tackle Liam Eichenberg and guards Aaron Banks and Tommy Kraemer earned nods on the offense, while  linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah and safety Kyle Hamilton earned slots on defense. 

On the second team, running back Kyren Williams claimed a spot, along with tackle Robert Hainsey and defensive lineman Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa on defense. On the third team, quarterback Ian Book leads the way, with true freshman tight end Michael Mayer, center Jarrett Patterson and cornerback Nick McCloud. 

The following Irish players earned honorable mention: wide receiver Javon McKinley, tight end Tommy Tremble, Williams (all-purpose), defensive lineman Daelin Hayes, defensive lineman Ade Ogundeji, defensive lineman Kurt Hinish and safety Shaun Crawford. 

First Team

Liam Eichenberg

Totaling 38-consecutive starts on his career, Eichenberg has been tabbed as one of the best linemen in the country, being named a semifinalist for the Outland Trophy and twice named ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week. He is a member of an offensive line unit that has been named a finalist for the 2020 Joe Moore Award. 

Aaron Banks

Banks has racked up 30-career starts and was named ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week for his performance vs. Clemson (11/7). Selected to the preseason All-ACC Team, Banks is part of an offensive line that leads the ACC and ranks eighth in the FBS in time of possession, controlling the ball for 33:57 minutes of game time and winning the time of possession battle in 10-of-11 games this season. The 33:57 time of possession average leads the ACC by more than two minutes per game.

Tommy Kraemer

Returning to the field in 2020 after a season-ending injury in 2019, Kraemer has totaled 38-career starts and has produced at a high level, even after missing a game due to injury. Named ACC Offensive LIneman of the Week at Boston College, Kraemer is a member of a unit that helps move the chains at a high level on third down. The Irish lead the ACC and rank ninth in the FBS in third down conversion percentage with a remarkable 49.3 success rate.

Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah

The 2020 Butkus Award winner, Owusu-Koramoah is widely regarded as one of the best defensive players in the nation. Also a finalist for the Nagurski Trophy and semifinalist for the Bednarik Award and Lott IMPACT Trophy, the senior has totaled 56 tackles (38 solo), 11.0 TFL, 1.5 sacks, one interception, three PBU, two FR and three FF on the season. 

Kyle Hamilton

A Bednarik Award semifinalist, sophomore Kyle Hamilton ties for the lead on the Irish defense with 56 tackles (45 solo) in 2020. Along with a 14-yard interception vs. Clemson in the ACC Championship, he has posted five PBUs, 3.5 TFL and two QB hits.

Second Team

Kyren Williams (Running Back)

A semifinalist for the Doak Walker Award, redshirt freshman Kyren Williams has taken college football by storm, reaching the 1,000 rushing yard mark in the regular season finale vs. Syracuse. He has received an ACC weekly honor five times out of ten possible games this season. He currently totals 1,061 yards and 12 touchdowns, adding 27 receptions for 282 yards, in 2020. Williams was named honorable mention for the All-Purpose slot. 

Robert Hainsey

Robert Hainsey, a mainstay on the Irish O-Line, is a team captain and finalist for the Senior CLASS Award. He was named ACC co-Offensive Lineman of the Week for his performance vs. South Florida, and has totaled 33-career starts. Also returning from a season-ending injury in 2019, Hainsey is a member of a line that has paved the way for a 1,000-yard rusher in Williams, and two additional players who have totaled more than 400 rushing yards on the season (RB Chris Tyree  – 480, QB Ian Book – 430). 

Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa

Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa has totaled 17 tackles and 6.0 TFL with 2.5 sacks on the season. His two fumble recoveries rank tied for 11th among all FBS players and third in the ACC. As a group, the Irish defense ranks sixth in the FBS in third-down defense (29.4 percent), seventh in fumbles recovered (10), 15th in rushing defense (110.5 yards allowed per game), 14th in scoring defense (18.6 points allowed per game) and 14th in team TFL (7.8 per game). 

Third Team

Ian Book

The winningest quarterback in Notre Dame history (30-4), Book has completed 201 passes for 2,601 yards and 15 touchdowns, also adding 101 rushes for 430 yards (ranks third on the team). The graduate student and team captain won the 2020 Pop Warner National College Football Award, and is a finalist for the Manning Award and Senior CLASS Award, as well as a semifinalist for the Maxwell, Davey O’Brien and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm awards. 

Michael Mayer

True freshman Michael Mayer ranks second on the Irish offense with 35 receptions for 388 yards and two touchdowns. His 35 receptions in 2020 are the most in a single season by a Notre Dame true freshman tight end in Irish history, and rank tenth among all Notre Dame tight ends for single-season receptions. He was named to the Pro Football Focus Team of the Week at Pitt, and to the FWAA Freshman All-American Watch List. 

Jarrett Patterson

Center Jarrett Patterson, a member of both the Outland and Rimington Trophy Watch Lists, earned a third-team nod after only being able to play in eight games this season. Sidelined due to injury, Patterson’s performance in those eight games was impressive, and he finishes 2020 with 21-career starts under his belt. 

Nick McCloud 

A graduate transfer, Nick McCloud quickly became a consistent presence for Notre Dame’s starting defense. Named to the Pro Football Focus Team of the Week for his performance at Pitt, McCloud has totaled a team-leading eight PBUs, as well as 29 tackles (22 solo), 2.0 TFL, one interception and a fumble recovery.