Sophomore Sam Fry is one of eight returnees from the 2014 season that are set to participate in two spring scrimmages in the coming weeks.

Irish Announce Spring Volleyball Schedule

April 9, 2015

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Volleyball fans anxious to see the new-look University of Notre Dame volleyball squad under national-championship winning head coach Jim McLaughlin will have two opportunities in the month of April, as the Irish are set to play two spring scrimmages — this Saturday, April 11 against Valparaiso and Saturday, April 25 versus DePaul.

First serve between the Irish and the Crusaders is set for 1 p.m. (ET) in the North Dome of the Joyce Center on the volleyball practice court. Admission is free and there will be seating available for fans.

Notre Dame’s match against the Blue Demons is also set for 1 p.m. (ET) and will be held at either the practice court or Purcell Pavilion.     

Eight returnees and two newcomers have taken part in spring practice thus far. The returnees include senior Hanna Muzzonigro, juniors Simmone Collins and Katie Higgins and sophomores Maddie Dilfer, Sam Fry (2014 All-ACC Freshman Team), Natalie Johnson, Sydney Kuhn and Maddie Plumlee. The two newcomers are senior Haley Bonneval, who played with the Irish in 2012, and freshman Rebecca Nunge, who graduated high school a semester early to enroll at Notre Dame in January.

The scrimmage with DePaul will wrap up a whirl-wind winter and spring that began with the hiring of McLaughlin and associate head coach Mike Johnson in mid-January, carried over into individual workouts from January to February and wrapped up with over a month of team practices beginning in mid-March and running into April.

For more information on the Irish volleyball team, follow Notre Dame on Facebook (/NDVolleyball), Twitter (@NDVolleyball) and Instagram (NDVBall).   

2015 Notre Dame Volleyball Spring Scrimmages
April 11 – Valparaiso – 1 p.m. – Joyce Center North Dome
April 25 – DePaul – 1 p.m. – Purcell Pavilion or Joyce Center North Dome

–Russell Dorn, Assistant Media Relations Director