March 10, 2000

Minneapolis, Minn. – Notre Dame sophomore Heather Mattingly placed fifth in one-meter diving, while senior Herb Huesman was sixth on the three-meter board at the 2000 NCAA Zone Diving Championships in Minneapolis, Minn.

Mattingly, who is coming back from injury, placed fifth with 375.00 points. Indiana’s Sara Reiling was first with 403.85 points, followed by Ball State’s Beth Clark. Irish senior diver Gina Ketelhohn placed 10th with 337.40 points, while junior Karli Richards was 20th with 166 points after failing to qualify for the finals.

Huesman, who completed his comeback after missing last season with a tumor in his ribcage, finished sixth with 487.70 points. Minnesota’s Dan Croatson won the title with 535.80 points, followed by Simon Chrisander of Iowa (517.30). Other Notre Dame finishers included freshman Andy Maggio, who was 14th with 419.30 points.

The women will compete Saturday on the three-meter board, while the men will conclude on the one-meter board.