Malmquist vs. UMD

Ten Irish Skaters Earn Big Ten All-Academic Team Honors

CHICAGO — Ten University of Notre Dame Fighting Irish hockey players were named to the 2019 Academic All-Conference team the Big Ten announced (March 20).

The list of Notre Dame honorees includes:
Cal Burke, Jr., – Business Analytics
Pierce Crawford, So., Business Analytics
Matt Hellickson, So.,  Finance
Dylan Malmquist, Sr., Finance
Cale Morris, Jr., Management – Information Technology
Andrew Peeke, Jr., Management – Consulting
Nick Sanford, So.,  Political Science
Dylan St. Cyr, So., Finance
Matt Steeves, So., Management – Information Technology
Colin Theisen, So., Finance

Malmquist earned a conference All-Academic team honor for the fourth consecutive season, having earned Big Ten honors last season while also being named to the Hockey East All-Academic team following his freshmen and sophomore seasons.

Burke and Morris each earned their third career conference All-Academic team honors, having earned Hockey East All-Academic team accolades following their freshman seasons and being named to last season’s Big Ten Academic All-Conference team.

Peeke earned Big Ten Academic All-Conference team honors for the second consecutive season, while Crawford, Hellickson, Sanford, St. Cyr, Steeves and Theisen earned the honor for the first time.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be on a varsity team, as verified by being on the official squad list as of March 1 for winter sports, who have been enrolled full time at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Up Next
Following No. 2 seeded Notre Dame’s dramatic 2-1 overtime win against Minnesota last Saturday night coupled with No. 4 seed Penn State defeating Ohio State 5-1 in the Big Ten Tournament semifinals, the Fighting Irish will host the Nittany Lions at 8 p.m. on Saturday, March 23 at the Compton Family Ice Arena.

Saturday’s contest will be televised by the Big Ten Network. Ticket information for Saturday’s game is available here.

It will mark the second consecutive season Notre Dame will host the championship game since joining the Big Ten. Last season, after defeating Penn State 3-2 in the semifinals, the Irish posted an 3-2 overtime win against Ohio State to claim the 2018 Big Ten Tournament Championship.

— ND —