Golden Tate became the highest drafted Notre Dame wide receiver since Derrick Mayes was selected 56th overall in the 1996 NFL Draft.

Golden Tate Selected To FWAA All-America Team

Dec. 12, 2009

DALLAS – University of Notre Dame junior wide receiver Golden Tate was selected to the Football Writers Association of America All-America Team announced on ABC-TV Saturday.

Recipient of the 2009 Biletnikoff Award as the nation’s top collegiate receiver, Tate has also been named a first-team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association, Walter Camp Football Foundation and

Tate set Notre Dame single-season records with 93 receptions for 1,496 yards and tied the school record with 15 touchdown receptions. He also set school records with nine games of at least 100 receiving yards, eight consecutive games with a receiving touchdown and highest receiving yards per game average for a season (124.7 yards).

Tate, who recently declared his intention to enter the 2010 NFL draft, departs as the most prolific receiver in Notre Dame history. He recorded 2,707 receiving yards on 157 receptions with 26 touchdowns. Tate ranks second in career touchdown receptions and is tied for third in career receptions.

The FWAA All-America Team, the second-longest continuously-published team in major college football, was announced on ABC-TV for the sixth straight season during a one-hour show that was sponsored by AT&T. The FWAA has named an All-America team in some form since 1944.

Tate is the first Notre Dame player selected to the FWAA All-America Team since wide receiver Jeff Samardzija in 2006.

2009 FWAA All-America Team

QB Colt McCoy, Texas; RB Toby Gerhart, Stanford; RB Mark Ingram, Alabama; WR Freddie Barnes, Bowling Green; WR Golden Tate, Notre Dame; TE Dorin Dickerson, Pittsburgh; OL Zane Beadles, Utah; OL Rodney Hudson, Florida State; OL Mike Iupati, Idaho; OL Russell Okung; C Maurkice Pouncey, Florida

DL Terrence Cody, Alabama; DL Jerry Hughes, TCU; DL Gerald McCoy, Oklahoma; DL Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska; LB Pat Angerer, Iowa; LB Greg Jones, Michigan State; LB Rolando McClain, Alabama; DB Eric Berry, Tennessee; DB Joe Haden, Florida; DB DeAndre McDaniel, Clemson; DB Earl Thomas, Texas

Special Teams
K Kai Forbath, UCLA; P Drew Butler, Georgia; RS C.J. Spiller, Clemson