Aug. 11, 2010

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame junior wide receiver Michael Floyd was named to the 2010 Biletnikoff Award Watch List on Wednesday. Floyd was one of 50 players mentioned for the award that is presented annually to the nation’s top college receiver.

Floyd (Saint Paul, Minn.) enters his junior season as one of the most prolific receivers in all of college football. He has totaled 92 receptions for 1,514 yards and 16 touchdowns while starting 17 of 18 games played in an Irish uniform. In 2009, Floyd recorded 44 catches for 795 yards and nine touchdowns in just seven games.

Floyd is ranked among the top five in the country on the active career charts in receiving yards per game and receptions per game. Floyd’s 84.1 yards receiving per game leads the nation amongst returning FBS receivers, while his 5.1 catches per game ranks fourth best.

Floyd, who missed five games in 2009 with a broken collarbone, failed to meet the NCAA rankings minimum requirement for games played, but his 113.6 receiving yards per game would have ranked sixth nationally. His 18.1 yards per catch would have also earned him 12th place on the NCAA season leader list as well.

Floyd has nine career 100-yard receiving games, which ranks third-best in school history. He also has 16 career receiving touchdowns, which is tied with Jim Seymour (1966-68) for seventh on the Notre Dame all-time list.

Floyd was named to the Walter Camp Player of the Week Watch List on Tuesday. He has also already been named first team preseason All-American by both Yahoo! Sports and Lindy’s. Phil Steele, Sporting News and Athlon have also listed him as a second team preseason All-American.

Notre Dame All-American wide receiver Golden Tate captured the honor in 2009. He became the first Irish player to ever win the Biletnikoff Award.

The Biletnikoff Selection Committee will send out electronic ballots to voters. The first vote will determine the 10 semifinalists and will be announced on November 15, the second vote will determine the top three finalists and will be announced on November 22, and the last vote to determine the recipient will take place on November 29. Voters for the Biletnikoff Award consist of Sports Writers who cover College Football on a National, Regional, or Conference Level, Past Award Winners of the Biletnikoff Award, and distinguished receivers of the past.

The recipient of the 2010 Biletnikoff Award will be announced live on ESPN on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Thursday, December 9. The Biletnikoff Award Presentation Banquet will be held at the University Center Club at Florida State University in Tallahassee, Florida, on Saturday, February 11, 2011.

2010 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Darvin Adams, Auburn University
Jon Baldwin, University of Pittsburgh
Armon Binns , University of Cincinnati
DeAndre Brown, University of Southern Mississippi
Vincent Brown, San Diego State University
Lavon Brazill, Ohio University
Ryan Broyles, University of Oklahoma
Tyron Carrier, University of Houston
Greg Childs, University of Arkansas
James Cleveland, University of Houston
Randall Cobb, University of Kentucky
Juron Criner, University of Arizona
Tandon Doss, Indiana University
Patrick Edwards, University of Houston
Michael Floyd, University of Notre Dame
AJ Green, University of Georgia
Leonard Hankerson, University of Miami
Dwayne Harris, East Carolina University
Alshon Jeffery, University of South Carolina
Jerrel Jernigan, Troy University
Derrell Johnson-Koulianos, University of Iowa
Demaris Johnson, University of Tulsa
Ronald Johnson, University of Southern California
Julio Jones, University of Alabama
Marvin Jones, University of California
Jermaine Kearse, Washington University
Detron Lewis, Texas Tech University
Greg Little, University of North Carolina
Scotty McKnight, University of Colorado
Derek Moye, Pennsylvania State University
Uzoma Nwachukwu, Texas A&M University
Eric Page, University or Toledo
Niles Paul, University of Nebraska
Phillip Payne, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Austin Pettis, Boise State University
DeVier Posey, Ohio State University
Bert Reed, Florida State University
James Rodgers, Oregon State University
Roy Roundtree, University of Michigan
Greg Salas, University of Hawaii
Keith Smith, Purdue University
Torrey Smith, University of Maryland
Owen Spencer, North Carolina State University
Nick Toon, University of Wisconsin
Donovan Varner, Duke University
Ryan Whalen, Stanford University
Jarvis Williams, North Carolina State University
Marshall Williams, Wake Forest University
Brandon Wimberly, University of Nevada
Kendall Wright, Baylor University
Titus Young, Boise State University

— ND —