Steven Perry

Five Irish Players Earn All-BIG EAST Honors

Nov. 11, 2010

SHORT HILLS, N.J. – Five University of Notre Dame student-athletes on Thursday evening received all-conference recognition at the annual BIG EAST men’s soccer awards banquet. Headlining the Fighting Irish honorees were first-team selections Jeb Brovsky (Lakewood, Colo./Green Mountain), a senior midfielder, and Steven Perry (Edmond, Okla./Bishop McGuinness), a senior forward.

Notre Dame junior defender Aaron Maund (Dorchester, Mass./The Roxbury Latin School) and sophomore midfielder Dillon Powers (Plano, Texas/Plano Senior) were named to the All-BIG EAST second team. Freshman forward Harrison Shipp (Lake Forest, Ill./Lake Forest) was selected to the BIG EAST All-Rookie Team.

Perry, a unanimous first-team pick, leads all BIG EAST players with 12 goals and is second in points (27). His goal total ranks eighth nationally. Perry, a starter in every match this season, has nine goals in league play. He has three two-goal efforts on the season and ranks first in the BIG EAST with five game-winning goals. Perry has scored a goal in eight of the past 12 matches and the Irish are 7-1-1 this season when the senior forward nets a goal. This is the first all-league accolade for Perry.

Brovsky has started every game this season and has posted four goals and one assist. This is the third all-BIG EAST honor for Brovsky, who was a third-team pick in each of the past two seasons. For his career, Brovsky has 15 goals and 12 assists. He also is a Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award finalist.

Maund has played every minute on the pitch this season. The central defender has anchored the Irish backline and has helped the Irish defense post six shutouts and limit opponents to a 0.89 goals-against average. Notre Dame is surrendering just 4.3 shots on goal per game. In addition to his defensive efforts, Maund has notched a goal and two assists. Maund, a starter in all 57 matches during his Fighting Irish career, was an all-BIG EAST third-team pick last season.

Powers has started every match this season and he has tallied three goals and four assists. His goal, assist and point total all rank third on the team. The sophomore leads all non-defenders on the Notre Dame squad in minutes played this season (1,604). Last season, Powers was named to the league’s all-rookie squad.

Shipp became the latest Fighting Irish player to be tabbed to the BIG EAST All-Rookie Team. Shipp has played in every match this season, including three starts. He is tied for the team lead in assists with six, which rank in a tie for eighth among all BIG EAST players. In his first career start, Shipp assisted on all three first-half goals in a 4-1 win over Marquette. He had a two-assist effort in a 3-1 triumph at Seton Hall.

Taking home the major awards on the night were Louisville’s Austin Berry (defensive player of the year) and Dylan Mares (rookie of the year), Connecticut’s Tony Cascio (offensive player of the year) and Josh Ford (goalkeeper of the year) along with Georgetown’s Ian Christianson (midfielder of the year). Louisville and Georgetown were named the conference’s coaching staffs of the year. St. John’s received the Team Fair Play Award.

All voting for the all-conference teams and awards were done by the league’s 16 head coaches.

The Fighting Irish finished second in the BIG EAST Blue Division with a 6-2-1 record. Georgetown won the Blue Division, while Louisville claimed the Red Division.

No. 11 Notre Dame (10-4-4) will face top-ranked Louisville (15-0-2) at 7:30 p.m. (ET) on Friday in the BIG EAST Championship semifinals at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J. The match can be seen live on CBS College Sports. Cincinnati and Providence will play in the first semifinal at 5:00 p.m. The BIG EAST title game will take place at noon (ET) on Sunday at Red Bull Arena.

BIG EAST Men’s Soccer Awards

Offensive Player of the Year
Tony Cascio, Connecticut

Defensive Player of the Year
Austin Berry, Louisville

Midfielder of the Year
Ian Christianson, Georgetown

Goalkeeper of the Year
Josh Ford, Connecticut

Rookie of the Year
Dylan Mares, Louisville

Coaching Staff of the Year

Team Fair Play Award
St. John’s

First Team
Carlos Alvarez, MF, Connecticut
Austin Berry, D, Louisville
Jeb Brovsky, MF, Notre Dame
*Tony Cascio, F, Connecticut
Ian Christianson, MF, Georgetown
Nick DeLeon, MF, Louisville
Josh Ford, GK, Connecticut
Matt Marcin, MF, Providence
*Steven Perry, F, Notre Dame
Colin Rolfe, F, Louisville
Tadeu Terra, MF, St. John’s
*unanimous First Team Selection

Second Team^
Antonio Aguilar, MF, DePaul
Bernardo Anor, MF, USF
Matt Bahner, MF, Cincinnati
Stephane Diop, MF, Connecticut
Raymon Gaddis, D, West Virginia
Zach Johnson, GK, West Virginia
Calum Mallace, MF, Marquette
Dylan Mares, MF, Louisville
Brayan Martinez, MF, Seton Hall
Aaron Maund, D, Notre Dame
Javed Mohammed, D, USF
Steve Neumann, MF, Georgetown
Dillon Powers, MF, Notre Dame
Abel Sebele, MF, West Virginia
^additional players due to point total ties

Third Team^
Jeff Attinella, GK, USF
Paolo DelPiccolo, MF, Louisville
Greg King, D, Connecticut
Connor Lade, D, St. John’s
Alex Mangan, F, DePaul
Leston Paul, MF, USF
Dylan Renna, F, Villanova
Yannick Salmon, MF, Rutgers
Jossimar Sanchez, MF, Connecticut
Dom Sarle, F, St. John’s
Eric Schoenle, D, West Virginia
Hasani Sinclair, F, USF
Kenney Walker, MF, Louisville
Matt Williams, GK, Cincinnati
^additional players due to point total ties

All-Rookie Team
Rafael Diaz, GK, St. John’s
Joey Dillon, MF, Georgetown
Mamadou Diouf, F, Connecticut
Andrew Jean-Baptiste, D, Connecticut
Dylan Mares, MF, Louisville
Steve Neumann, MF/F, Georgetown
Leston Paul, MF, USF
Dylan Renna, F, Villanova
Dom Sarle, F, St. John’s
Joseph Schmid, MF, Villanova
Harrison Shipp, F, Notre Dame