Notre Dame defenseman Garrett Epple was an Under Armour All-American last year. Epple started the final seven games of his freshman campaign in 2014.

Five Incoming Freshmen Named Under Armour All-Americans

May 29, 2014

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Five incoming University of Notre Dame men’s lacrosse players have been picked to play in the ninth annual Under Armour All-America Lacrosse Classic on July 12 at Towson University’s Johnny Unitas Stadium in Towson, Md.

John Sexton (Sudbury, Mass./Lincoln-Sudbury), Brendan Collins (Bethesda, Md./Georgetown Prep), Alex Hurdle (Cockeysville, Md./McDonogh), Owen Molloy (Basking Ridge, N.J./Ridge) and Mikey Wynne (Sykesville, Md./St. Paul’s) are the future Fighting Irish student-athletes that were tabbed as Under Armour All-Americans. Sexton (D) will compete with the North team, while Collins (M), Hurdle (D), Molloy (G) and Wynne (A) will suit up for the South squad.

Under Armour All-Americans are selected by a panel of lacrosse experts from Inside Lacrosse Magazine. The year-long selection process includes input from college and high school coaches from across the country as well as nominations from the public. Duke leads the way with six selections, while Notre Dame and Maryland both have five. The five honorees are the most ever in one class for the Fighting Irish.

The selected high school seniors will experience a weekend of events that begins on Friday, July 11 and culminates with the Under Armour All-America Boys Classic at 5 p.m. on Saturday, July 12 followed by the Girls Classic at 7:30 p.m. The Under Armour All-America Boys Classic will be showcased live on ESPNU for the ninth year.

Tickets will be available for purchase on For more information about the event, visit You can also follow the event on Twitter at Use the hashtag: #UAALLAMERICA.

Notre Dame Under Armour All-Americans (all-time)
John Sexton (D) – North – 2014
Brendan Collins (M) – South – 2014
Alex Hurdle (D) – South – 2014
Owen Molloy (G) – South – 2014
Mikey Wynne (A) – South – 2014
Garrett Epple (D) – South – 2013
Ben Pridemore (M) – South – 2013
Conor Doyle (A) – South – 2011
Conor Kelly (G) – South – 2011
Jim Marlatt (M) – South – 2010
Liam O’Connor (M/FO) – South – 2010
Pat Cotter (M) – South – 2009
John Kemp (G) – South – 2009
Steve Murphy (M) – North – 2009
Sean Rogers (A) – North – 2008
Bobby Smith (LSM/D) – North – 2008
Zach Brenneman (M) – North – 2007
Kevin Ridgway (D) – South – 2007
Matt Ciambella (M) – North – 2006


The University of Notre Dame men’s lacrosse team pursues excellence on and off the field through the three pillars in which the program is built: Character, Culture & Community. These three foundational values guide the promise of the program, which is to provide its student-athletes with the most compelling and enriching experience in all of college athletics. Through academics, competition, service and travel, the program aims to immerse its players in situations that enhance their student-athlete experience to help them become the people, students and teammates they aspire to be.

Follow the Notre Dame men’s lacrosse team on social media and the Internet …

Click here to follow ND Lacrosse on Twitter
Click here to follow ND Lacrosse Coaching Tips on Twitter
Click here to learn more about the ND Lacrosse Experience on Twitter
Click here to like ND Lacrosse on Facebook
Click here to subscribe to NDLaxTV YouTube Channel
Click here to read the latest news on ND Lacrosse
Click here to learn more about ND Lacrosse Camps
Click here to learn about ND Lacrosse community service on Twitter

— ND —