Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Evans Named A Senior Class Candidate

Nov. 1, 2017

Senior Class Award

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Fighting Irish senior captain Jake Evans has been named one of 20 candidates for college hockey’s 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award® it was announced on Wednesday afternoon (Nov. 1).

Awarded annually to a men’s ice hockey student-athlete who excels both on and off the ice, a candidate must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

Evans, who currently leads the nation in points (15) and assists (12), is one of four Big Ten players to make the candidate list (complete list below). He now has over 100-career points (31-76-107) and after notching seven assists in last weekend’s series against Omaha he was named the Big Ten’s Third Star of the Week (Oct. 31). In game one against the Mavericks (Oct. 26), Evans recorded a career-high four assists to become the first Irish player to post a four-assist game since Stephen Johns did so on Dec. 29, 2010.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will then be announced during the 2018 NCAA Men’s Frozen Final Four® in April.

This weekend, Evans and 10th-ranked Notre Dame will open Big Ten conference play with their first road games of the season against No. 16 Ohio State (Nov. 3-4) at Value City Arena. Puck drop for both games is scheduled for 7:00 p.m. ET, and game one of the series will be televised by the Big Ten Network.

Dylan Abood, Air Force

Alfred Larsson, Merrimack

Louie Belpedio, Miami (OH)

Merrick Madsen, Harvard

Michael Bitzer, Bemidji State

Mitch McLain, Bowling Green

Tim Davison, Wisconsin

Brady Norrish, RIT

Andrew Dorantes, Ferris State

Judd Peterson, St. Cloud State

Jake Evans, Notre Dame

Tyler Pham, Army

Brady Ferguson, Robert Morris

Sam Piazza, Michigan

Carson Gatt, Michigan State

Austin Poganski, North Dakota

Karson Kuhlman, Minnesota Duluth

Ryan Schmelzer, Canisius

Sam Lafferty, Brown

Jared Wilson, RPI

— ND —