Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

David Ulrich Honored

March 2, 2001

Notre Dame, Ind. – Notre Dame senior attack David Ulrich (Baltimore, Md.) is among 15 finalists for the first annual Tewaaraton Trophy to be presented by the University Club of Washington, D.C, in conduction with the Tewaaraton Award Foundation.

The award will be presented annually to the top female and male lacrosse players in the United States. Scholarship money will be given to the award recipient’s college of university general scholarship fund with preference given to the Native Americans seeking scholarship.

Every eligible male and female college varsity player in Divisions I, II and III is considered a nominee. A five-coach selection committee for both males and females will oversee the voting process. There will be a maximum of three wild-card spots left open for a new candidate (s) who emerge during the season. The five finalists will be announced on May 1, 2001.

The inaugural Tewaaraton Trophy will be presented at The University Club of Washington, D.C. on June 7, 2001 at a banquet honoring the finalists and winners.

The men’s selection committee includes: Richie Moran, chair (Cornell -retired), Scott Anderson (Harvard), Tom Postel (C.W, Post College), Erin Quinn (Middlebury), Dom Starsia (Virginia) and Dave Urick (Georgetown).

Ulrich, United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) honorable mention All-America selection last season as a junior, tied the Irish single-season assist mark a year ago when he dished 32 assists. A three-year starter and a three-time Great Western Lacrosse League (GWLL) all-conference selection, has 52 career goals and 82 career assists for 134 points, the most of any Irish player on the 2001 roster.

Top 15 Male Candidates (listed alphabetically)

Name Position School
Roger Buttles Midfield Harvard
Josh Coffman Midfield Syracuse
R.J. Degenfelder Goal C.W. Post
Conor Deniham Midfield Johns Hopkins
Conor Gill Attack Virginia
John Glatzel Defense Syracuse
Chris Hartofolis Midfield Duke
Holt Hopkins Attack Middlebury
Mark Koontz Defense Virginia
Rob Mulligan Goal Syracuse
Doug Shanahan Midfield Hofstra
Jeff Sonke Attack North Carolina
Mike Springer Attack Syracuse
Trevor Tierney Goal Princeton