April 6, 2001

The Michiana community is invited to join Sunday in a celebration of Notre Dame’s NCAA women’s basketball title in 2001.

Among those speaking are South Bend mayor Steve Luecke, Mishawaka mayor Bob Beutter, BIG EAST Conference senior associate commissioner Tom McElroy, as well as Mike Hamann of the St. Joseph County Commissioners.

Indiana Governor Frank O’Bannon is unable to attend, but he has sent a congratulatory letter which will be read — and Congressman Tim Roemer (Indiana-Third District) has sent a plaque to be presented. The two United States Senators from Indiana, Evan Bayh and Richard Lugar, have offered a Congressional resolution.

The 2001 Notre Dame Women’s Basketball National Championship Celebration will be held at the Joyce Center on the University’s campus, and the general public is invited to watch the speaking program free of charge from the lower- and upper-arena seating areas.

Luncheon tickets have been sold out for several weeks, but Irish fans will be admitted free at Gate 10 beginning at 2:30 p.m. EST Sunday to view the speaking program that begins at 3:00 p.m. General admission seating will be available to view the proceedings taking place on the arena floor.

The program also includes remarks from head coach Muffet McGraw, University president Rev. Edward A. Malloy, C.S.C., director of athletics Kevin White and the senior members of the Irish squad — Ruth Riley, Niele Ivey, Kelley Siemon, Imani Dunbar and Meaghan Leahy.

A series of awards will be presented, and there will be several video tributes to the Irish team and season. The Sears Trophy, originally presented in St. Louis after the national championship game, will be re-presented, and there will be several other special presentations.

National championship merchandise will be on sale in the Joyce Center concourse, including game programs from the NCAA Final Four in St. Louis and a special national championship commemorative publication.