Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Colson Selected As Malone Award Finalist

Feb. 2, 2017

Junior forward Bonzie Colson has been named one of 10 watch list finalists for the 2017 Karl Malone Award by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Thursday, Feb. 2. Named after Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Player Karl Malone, the annual honor is in its third year and recognizes the top power forward in Division I men’s college basketball.

Colson leads the Irish in scoring (15.6 ppg) and rebounding (10.6 rpg) while shooting .494 from the floor and .816 from the free throw line. The junior from New Bedford, Massachusetts has led the Atlantic Coast Conference in rebounding average for much of the season, while also compiling a conference-best 13 double-doubles and four 20-point, 10-rebound performances.

Among his notable performances this season, Colson scored 24 points with 17 rebounds in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge game with Iowa, 21 points and 14 rebounds in the ACC opener win at Pittsburgh and an 18-point, 14-rebound effort in a victory over No. 9/9 Louisville on Jan. 4, 2017.

Of the 10 finalists (see list below) Colson is the only finalist to have double-digit double-double performances this season while also shooting over .800 from the free throw line and .490 from the field.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee for the 2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award. The winner of the 2017 Karl Malone Award will be presented at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards, presented by Wendy’s, live from The Novo by Microsoft in downtown Los Angeles on Friday, April 7, 2017.

2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Finalists

Lauri Markkanen


Johnathan Motley


Ivan Rabb


Dedric Lawson


Miles Bridges

Michigan St.

Bonzie Colson

Notre Dame

Michael Young


Caleb Swanigan


TJ Leaf

University of California, Los Angeles

Alec Peters


Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015). For more information on the 2017 Karl Malone Award, log onto