UND Staff

Randy Hart

Football Defensive Line Coach


Joined Notre Dame[apos]s coaching staff in February after 21 seasons at the University of Washington.
A 39-year coaching veteran who has coached at five other schools in his career: Tampa, Iowa State, Purdue, Ohio State and Washington.

He has been a member of 22 bowl teams in his coaching career, including six Rose Bowl teams. At Washington, he helped guide the Huskies to 12 bowl appearances, including three-straight Rose Bowl games.
His 1991 defensive unit allowed only 101 points and 1,191 rushing yards in 11 regular-season games en route to winning the school[apos]s first national championship. That unit still holds six Washington defensive team records.

Three times during Hart[apos]s tenure, Washington allowed fewer than 100 rushing yards per game, including 1990 and 1991 when the Huskies permitted 66.8 yards and 67.1 yards rushing, respectively. Prior to his arrival, Washington[apos]s football team had allowed fewer than 100 rushing yards per game in a season only four times in the 51-year history of the program.

Four of the eight best single-season defensive rushing averages in school history occurred under Hart[apos]s watch, and six times the Huskies allowed 120.2 rushing yards or less in a season.

The 1990 defense owns the Washington school record for fewest rushing yards allowed in an 11-game season (735 yards), while the 2002 unit permitted 1,270 rushing yards to set the standard for a 13-game schedule.

With the Huskies, he coached 14 first-team all-Pacific-10 players and 11 of his players were selected in NFL drafts. Hart developed four All-Americans, three winners of the Morris Trophy (awarded to the Pac-10[apos]s top offensive or defensive lineman) and two players were named Pac-10 Player of the Year.

His prized pupil is Steve Emtman, the 1991 recipient of the Lombardi Award and Outland Trophy. Emtman was a first-team All-American, two-time winner of the Morris Trophy and the first overall selection in the 1992 NFL draft by the Indianapolis Colts. In 2007, Emtman was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

D[apos]Marco Farr was a member of the [apos]91 national championship team with Emtman and became the top defensive player in the Pac-10 under Hart[apos]s guidance in 1992 and 1993. He also was recipient of the Morris Trophy in [apos]93.

Hart produced the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year in 1996 in Jason Chorak who also was named a first-team All-American that season.

Several other players for Hart enjoyed NFL careers including: Dennis Brown, David Richie, Tyrone Rodgers, Jamal Fountain, Jabari Issa, Mac Tuiaea, Larry Tripplett and Terry [quote]Tank[quote] Johnson.

As the Huskies[apos] defensive coordinator from 1995-98, Hart also helped develp future second-round draft picks Lawyer Milloy and Tony Parrish.

Prior to Washington, he coached the defensive line at his alma mater, Ohio State. His return to Columbus marked his second coaching stint with the Buckeyes and the third time he coached under Earle Bruce.
Hart broke into coaching with his first full-time job under Bruce at the University of Tampa before following Bruce to Iowa State.

A three-time letterwinner at Ohio State, Hart was a member of the 1969 Rose Bowl championship team that was 10-0 and named national champion. He was also a member of the Buckeye wrestling team in 1966.

A native of Cleveland, Ohio, he was born March 9, 1948, and graduated from South High School in Willoughby, Ohio. He earned his bachelor[apos]s degree in education from Ohio State in 1970 and a master[apos]s degree in higher education in 1974, also from Ohio State.

He and his wife Linda have two sons: Jay and John. John was a three-time letterwinner on the Washington football team and graduated in 2002.