The CCHA and its member teams will 'Celebrate The Legacy' during the 42nd and final season of conference play in 2012-13.

CCHA To 'Celebrate The Legacy' During 2012-13 Season

July 13, 2012

Farmington Hills, Mich. – The Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) has announced a new “Celebrate the Legacy,” slogan and logo developed to commemorate the league’s 42nd and final season in 2012-13.

The new logo showcases the league’s traditional blue-colored player, along with a red banner, and focuses on the long and storied history of the CCHA that includes eight NCAA national championships, seven Hobey Baker Memorial Award winners, 179 All-Americans and 35 Stanley Cup champions.

Next season the Celebrate the Legacy logo will be worn as a patch on both the home and away jerseys of each of the CCHA’s 11 member schools, by the league’s on-ice officials and will be used on websites, pocket schedules and other promotional items to celebrate the league’s last season of operation.

The league plans to invite all CCHA alumni to the final CCHA Championship weekend, including the CCHA Awards, on March 21-23, 2013 at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit. Details of special weekend events for fans and alumni will be announced at the beginning of the season.

“The CCHA has had a major impact on the national collegiate landscape over the past 41 seasons,” said CCHA Commissioner Fred Pletsch. “We’re looking forward to engaging as many fans and former players, coaches and administrators to help make the final CCHA Championship weekend a celebration of the grand legacy of the league.”

Additional Celebrate the Legacy components include a video retrospective with interviews with key players, coaches and administrators from the CCHA’s history and the selection of a final CCHA All-Decade Team (2000-2013) to complete the All-Decade squads from the 1970s, `80s and `90s that were announced in 2006.

“The CCHA has a rich history of producing the finest players and most memorable moments in the history of college hockey,” said Tom Wilson, CEO and President of Olympia Entertainment. “We are extremely proud to have hosted the CCHA Championship and look forward to celebrating this wonderful legacy in the league’s final season.”


– Established: 1971

– Teams: Alaska, Bowling Green, Ferris State, Lake Superior, Miami, Michigan, Michigan State, Northern Michigan, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Western Michigan

– National Championships: Bowling Green (1984), Michigan State (1986, 2007), Lake Superior (1988, 1992, 1994) and Michigan (1996, 1998)

– Hobey Baker Award Winners: George McPhee (Bowling Green, 1982), Kip Miller (Michigan State, 1990), Brian Holzinger (Bowling Green, 1995), Brendan Morrison (Michigan, 1997), Ryan Miller (Michigan State, 2001), Kevin Porter (Michigan, 2008) and Andy Miele (Miami, 2011)

– All-Americans: 179 total, including 91 First-Team

– Stanley Cup Winners: 35

– First CCHA Championship at Joe Louis Arena: 1982