Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Cale Morris Named MVP At Annual Awards Banquet

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — The University of Notre Dame hockey team held its annual awards banquet on Sunday afternoon (April 28) at the University’s Morris Inn.

The team celebrated a season which included its fourth straight NCAA Tournament berth, second consecutive Big Ten Tournament Championship and a NCAA Northeast Regional Final appearance.

It marked the sixth time in the last seven years and the 11th time in program history the Irish made the NCAA Championship field, including the 10th appearance under head coach Jeff Jackson.

With Notre Dame’s New Year’s Eve win over rival Boston College; Jackson became the program’s all-time winningest coach – passing legendary Lefty Smith with his 308th victory behind the Irish bench.

The Big Ten Tournament championship game win was the 500th of Jackson’s career, spanning time at both Lake Superior State and Notre Dame.

Cale Morris was named the team’s Most Valuable Player for the second straight season. He backstopped the Irish to 19 victories and tied his career-high with four shutouts, including a pair in Notre Dame’s sweep of Michigan State in the Big Ten Quarterfinals, while also posting a .930 save percentage and 2.19 goals-against average.

For his efforts, he earned Second Team All-Big Ten honors in addition to being named a Mike Richter Award semifinalist. He was also named the Big Ten Tournament’s Most Outstanding Player for the second consecutive year after stopping 126 of 129 shots in Notre Dame’s run to a second straight Big Ten Tournament championship.

In three seasons, including the last two as the starting goaltender, Morris is 46-21-4 with a 2.07 goals-against average and a .938 save percentage. The .938 save percentage ranks first all-time in program history, while his 2.07 goals against average and .676 career winning percentage rank second.

Additional award winners:
Cal Burke — Compton Family Leadership in Service Award
Pierce Crawford — Notre Dame Club of St. Joseph Valley Rockne Student-Athlete Award
Dylan Malmquist — Brian Walsh Offensive Player of the Year
Andrew Peeke — William Donald Nyrop Defensive Player of the Year
Jack Jenkins — Charles “Lefty” Smith Coaches Award
Mike O’Leary — Most Improved Player Award
Michael Graham — Rookie of the Year