Brady Quinn.

Brady Quinn Named Finalist For Maxwell And O'Brien Awards

Nov. 21, 2006

Notre Dame senior quarterback Brady Quinn has been named one of three finalists for both the 70th Annual Maxwell Award and 2006 Davey O¹Brien National Quarterback Award. The Maxwell Award is presented annually to the college football player of the year while the Davey O¹Brien Award is awarded to the nation¹s best college quarterback.

The most prolific passer in Notre Dame history, Quinn owns 35 school records and has helped guide the Irish to 29 wins in his 44 starts, tied for best in school history with Tom Clements and Ron Powlus. Quinn has helped Notre Dame to a 10-1 record this year by completing 65.1 percent of his passes for 3,004 yards with 32 touchdowns and just five interceptions. He currently has the Irish on an eight-game winning streak during which he has thrown 26 touchdowns and only two interceptions.

The Maxwell Award is named after Robert W. ³Tiny² Maxwell, a former college player and official in the early 1900¹s. Division I head coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club, as well as sportswriters and sportscasters from across the country vote for the winner. The 2006 recipient will be honored March 2, 2007 at the presentation banquet at Harrah¹s Hotel & Resort in Atlantic City, N.J.

The Davey O¹Brien Award is named after the 1938 TCU student-athlete that became the first player to win the Heisman, Maxwell and Walter Camp trophies in the same year. The O¹Brien Selection Committee, comprised of a nationwide panel of sportswriters, commentators and former O¹Brien Award winners, will vote later this month to determine the winner. The recipient will then be honored Feb. 19, 2007 at the 30th annual Davey O¹Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas, along with Paul Hornung, recipient of the 2006 Davey O¹Brien Legends Award, and the O¹Brien High School Scholarship Award Winner.

Both awards will be announced on ESPN¹s Home Depot College Football Award Show on Dec. 7 at 7 p.m. EST. The show will air live from the Atlantic Dance Hall on The Boardwalk at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Fla.

The finalists for the 70th Annual Maxwell Award are:
Brady Quinn, Senior, Quarterback, University of Notre Dame
Ray Rice, Sophomore, Running Back, Rutgers University
Troy Smith, Senior, Quarterback, Ohio State University

The finalists for the 2006 Davey O¹Brien Award are:
Colt Brennan, Junior, Hawaii
Brady Quinn, Senior, Notre Dame
Troy Smith, Senior, Ohio State